Limited or No Connectivity?

By huskinatorr2
Sep 15, 2008
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have a Compaq laptop with Windows xp sp2 and i have this weird problem. Every time i connect to my wireless network a message pops-up saying "limited or no connectivity". (Yes I've tried the repair option)

    I have an D-link wireless router. I dont think it is the network because my sisters laptop works fine on wireless. The internet with cable works fine. Everything looks normal, the speed, the signal strength,but things like the status and the icon are different.

    Now i know as your reading ur probably thinking "why didn't he just search the forums or google before posting?"
    Well the reason is cause the threads I read have some answers, but all of them are too damn complicated to understand! And I know asking them how to exactly do it is worthless because most of the threads are at least few weeks old and its unlikely the poster will visit the thread again.

    SO PLEASE BEFORE YOU POST AND SAY TO DO THIS AND THAT, please give a brief explanation on how to actually do it.=]=]

    Some info on my thingy majigy. Sorry but I am an amateur.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PC717525419134
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D3-06-6F-EC
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 15 September 2008 10:07:21 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, 25 September 2008 10:07:21
    PM

    Ethernet adapter wireless network connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-AF-7F-74
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.162.147
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    C:\Documents and Settings\Bianca Pineda>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1

    Ethernet adapter wireless network connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.162.147
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
  2. foxdelta

    foxdelta Newcomer, in training Posts: 47

    If you use a wireless USB adapter, you may want to try uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, making sure you have the latest drivers for it. If the PC uses its own internal adapter, try moving your PC to another place and see if that works.

    Also, try unplugging and plugging the power in the D link router and then un-connect the telephone line and connect it again as sometimes a reset does the trick.

    Make sure you know the password for your router (if you use encryption - which you really should to be safe from hackers) as if you uninstall the adapter drivers, it will ask you for the password for your router when trying to connect following the new installation. Good luck and let us know how you get on.
  3. CCT

    CCT Newcomer, in training Posts: 3,556

    "The Repair capability has been enhanced in Windows XP SP2 for wireless connections. You can access the Repair capability through the Repair context menu option of a connection or from the Repair button on the Support tab of the Status dialog box of a connection. When you repair a wireless connection, it is disabled and re-enabled, which clears many error conditions on wireless network adapters."

    per: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-ca/library/bb878093.aspx
  4. tw0rld

    tw0rld TechSpot Maniac Posts: 609   +6

    Is your network encrypted? I had a similar problem b4, what I had to do was re-enter the encryption key on the comp with the problem.
  5. Frenzy

    Frenzy Newcomer, in training Posts: 56

    limited or no connectivity is sometimes a problem with the authentication of the WEP key. goto network connections right click on the wireless connection, then properties then choose the wireless networks tab, remove ALL the networks in the list. this removes all the passwords etc saved in the history. now try reconnecting the wireless network and typing in your WEP key PRECISELY. if your router doesnt have a WEP key or are usin WPA change to WEP an see if it makes a difference.

    you can also try setting a static IP address an seein if it allows a internet page
  6. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    How do u set a static IP address to your laptop?
  7. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Heyz i have figured out the problem=]=]

    I found this useful thread on techspot and it said to manually configure it the wireless settings with these specific numbers=]=]
  8. Frenzy

    Frenzy Newcomer, in training Posts: 56

    static IP addresses are done in the properties of the network connection. Right click on the connection in network settings, then properties, then scroll down to TCP/IP configuration. you can then set a static IP to ANY system.
    NOTE: your gateway address is the IP of your router
    NOTE2: the DNS addresses you can get from your ISP. otherwise put the address of your router in.
  9. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    I take that bac, wenever i try to connect to the internet it says "Addres Not Found".

    P.S I'll try to give it a static IP=]=]
  10. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Still doesn't work

    Ill give you my info just in case it comes in handy

    IP Address: 192.168.0.101

    Subnet Task: 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.101

    Preferred DNS Server: 192.168.0.101

    Alternate DNS Server: 192.268.0.102
  11. Frenzy

    Frenzy Newcomer, in training Posts: 56

    well im guessin you havent got the idea on how to create a static IP properly.
    on the Section Ip address type in 192.168.0.2 (your PC)
    subnet mask : 255.255.255.0 (stays like this as default)
    gateway: 192.168.0.1 (taking a guess that this is your router address)
    Dns server : 192.168.0.1 (or find out what DNS server address is for your ISP)
     
  12. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Setting a Static IP still doesn't work=[=[=[=[=[=[=[=[=[=[
  13. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    WTF

    Why the **** are there porn advertisements on this website!??!!
  14. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    WTF

    Why the **** are there porn advertisements on this website!??!!
  15. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,361   +167

    huskinatorr2!!!!

    You still with us? or the porn sites gotcha by now?

    my best suggestions
    • First, unless you asked for static IP and your ISP agreed to give you one (and you're paying more for it) don't know of a method that will work to do it for you.
    • Apoloiges if you said before, but i just woke up and too tired to look back and find.... did you give us specs on your wireless adapter AND the router?
    • Without any more specific info (and many times even when there is moe specifc info) this is still the best advice:
      1. Check for any firmware updates for the adapter. Check for new driver also
      2. Check firmware update for router
      3. Reset the router back to factory default (should be a pin for it on router)
      4. Go thru the process of reconfiguring the router for your home network AND
        • You go through reconfig/test cycle AND you are taking baby steps wrt what you're doing/changing
        • Don't try throwing all the functionality back inside of it once and then test. Should be small steps forward then test still get teh functionality you need
  16. huskinatorr2

    huskinatorr2 Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 23

    Okayz. Thx for the advice.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.