Linux newbie + old laptop + VM + performance = ?

superty12

I am planning to install Linux on an old Dell. It needs to run in a VM. I'd like it to be as fast as possible. The specs are in my profile. I'm also a newbie. Please finish the equasion above for me. I cannot.

It's not going to be great... especially in a VM,,, whatever you do don't go for 'buntu...

Why a virtual machine though? Do you have any free space on the disk? If so defrag, work out the free space, partition (leave a "decent buffer zone") and install properly? You could install it in a VM on any machine...

As to what distro you should use - debian would be good, but it's not ideal for beginners - especially as you'll need to do a minimal install. You might want to try a more minimal "user friendly" distro - the others here may have more idea about those than I would.

Code:
Dell Inspiron B130
Intel Pentium M
512 DDR RAM
Intel GMA900

Running a VM on a old laptop is likely to be frustrating experience.

I would just run Linux natively, which will allow it to use the full resources at the laptops disposal. Something like Linux Mint is a good starting point. Or you could give openSUSE a go.

I agree that Debian would be the best solution, but its really not for those new to Linux. I think the same would be true of Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE) as well.

Your best bet would be to start out with Linux Mint, and then move over to LMDE once you have a bit more experience. Then once your ready you can move over to Debian.

Personally I wouldn't recommend Linux Mint as they couldn't give a damn about distributing non-free software and push it down the user's throat from the off... but it may serve as a starting point.

I'm also uncertain as to how it will perform on that hardware - it's not exactly the lightest distro...

They're one step better than 'buntu, but to be honest I find myself stuck when recommending a decent starter distro these days.