Looking for advice to OC my AMD 3200+ on K8N Neo4-F board

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,

I am totally new to overclocking or working with the inside of a computer in everyway. I watched my friend put this computer together for me (he recommended what parts I buy, etc.) about 2 years ago. The only thing I did was to pop in the RAM

Ok so 3 basic questions I have then I will list my specs:

1) Is it worth it for me to overclock? I am super tight on cash and just want to buy some new RAM and get this thing faster for about 12-18 months till I can afford a new computer.

2) I am considering buying 2 gb of Kingston ValueRAM 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory Model KVR400X64C3AK2/2G - Retail for $65 bucks (thats my budget unfortunately). So is it a good idea?

3) Any advice on some basics of how I can begin to overclock on this board?

Specs follow:

Name: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Code Name: Venice
Brand ID: 4
Package: Socket 939
Technology: 90nm
Core Voltage: @1.4 V
Family, Model, Ext. Family: F
Ext. Model: 2F
Stepping: 2
Revision: DH-E6
Instructions: MMX(+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
Core Speed 2010.4 MHz
Multiplier: x10.0
Bus Speed: 201.0 MHz
HT Link: 1005.1 MHz
L1 Data 64 KBytes 2-way
L1 Inst. 64 KBytes 2-way
Level 2: 512 KBytes 16-way

Caches
Size: 64 KBytes
Descriptor: 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Cache Size: 64 KBytes
L1 Cash Descriptor: 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 Cache Size: 512 KBytes
L2 Cash Descriptor: 16 way set associative, 64-byte line size

Motherboard
Manufacturer: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD
Model: MS-7125 version 3.0
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce4 Rev: A3
Southbridge: NVIDIA nForce4 MCP
LPCIO: W83627EHF
Brand: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version 6.00 PG

Graphic Interface
Version: PCI-Express
Link Width: x16
Max Supported: x16
(my card)
NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT with 65nm technology
Core: 550 MHz
Size: 10254 MBytes
Shaders 1350 MHz
Memory: 400 MHz
Type: DDR2
Bus Width 128 bits