Low fps / weird fps in TF2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello. I need help.

I got weird acting FPS. I played CS:S a long time, and my fps always went beyond 100 with FULL settings. Even if I run 1920x1080. When I changed to LOW settings with 800x600 I got fps 500, looking in a corner tho.. but anways.

Now in TF2, after I started playing it again. My FPS is 140 tops. And when I get outside of buildings and theres ppl running around my fps drops to 40. And sometimes its 50-65 in some cases.. and Im not happy with that at all.. Im used to steady and smooth fps_max 101.. and I cant play at all with 50 fps.. its way too laggy. And the thing is that I get same fps and even a bit better if I use 1920x1080.. I tried lowering some settings and taking filters off, but its just not worth it.. I cant see any fps boost.

I understand physics of cpu and ram and vid card, and that it takes more if u got lots of things happening on your screen, but..

Afterall my specs are not that bad:

AMD Athlon II X4 620 - running on 3.11GHz // Temperatures 50*C top
Radeon HD4870 - 1GB // Temperature 62*C top
DDR2 800 - 6GB
Win7 x64
23* acer
10mb Internet

anything got on your mind, let me know, since I already have tryed lot of things :)

thanks!

While yes both CSS and TF2 use Source game engine, it's not the same release. Valve has done plenty of improvements since 2004 which results in the difference between games.