MSI GX630 unable to run CoD4 and other games at high res/graphics

Status
Not open for further replies.

sadbluescreener

Hi I have a MSI GX630. it has a AMD Athlon X2 QL-62 processor @ 2.0GHz, 4GB of RAM but I'm running a 32-bit version of Win7 and a 9600m GT GPU with 512MB VRAM.

My problem arose when i started playing CoD4 earlier this year. I realise when playing singleplayer the gameplay is choppy and keeps sticking and this was at 1280*800, the native resolution of my machine. i lowered this to 1024*768 and still there was no real improvement. i now play at 640*480 (sad isn't it?) and there are still times when my gameplay is just difficult. i put my power settings to max performance and still, no improvement.

this problem is also evident in multplayer, be it online games or LAN. i find that i lag a lot of the time. in servers with many players my FPS drops from 30+ to 12 and even lower at random times, and though that is to be expected in a large server, i don't see it happening with my friends' machines and those are older than mine.

this happens in other games also, like Portal and Team Fortress 2 and Fallout 3. is there anyone that could help me with a fix or fill me in on why my "gaming" machine is performing like this?

Hi I have a MSI GX630. it has a AMD Athlon X2 QL-62 processor @ 2.0GHz, 4GB of RAM but I'm running a 32-bit version of Win7 and a 9600m GT GPU with 512MB VRAM.

My problem arose when i started playing CoD4 earlier this year. I realise when playing singleplayer the gameplay is choppy and keeps sticking and this was at 1280*800, the native resolution of my machine. i lowered this to 1024*768 and still there was no real improvement. i now play at 640*480 (sad isn't it?) and there are still times when my gameplay is just difficult. i put my power settings to max performance and still, no improvement.