My Local Disk (C:) has a red X on it and I can't get rid of it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aaron20b

I can't even format it because I keep getting an error saying I can't format it.....

so yeah please help me out here, I want to fix this and I am NOT good with computers at all so please explain as simple as you can to tell me what I need to do. Thanks

Maybe in your BIOS, Hard Disk Write protect is enabled. I'm not sure about it, but I did see the option to Write Protect your Hard Disk in my BIOS, but I'm not sure about it.

When your computer starts up, it should say something like "press <DELETE> or <ESC> to enter BIOS. By start up, I mean like when you see a black screen with a jumble of incomprehensible white letters. Or, at least it's incomprehensible to the uneducated eye.

I don't know if getting into the BIOS is the solution, but here's how to get in:

Boot the computer> right after the logo loads-before Windows would begin loading, hit and keep tapping either f2, DEL or the particular key for you make> the system will boot to the BIOS. I have never made the change referred to about write protect but on in:
Using arrow keys> skip along the top until you get the Boot Option> Then change boot order to CD first, Hard drive second.
Exit ans save.
'Press any key' as you insert the Windows OS CD and boot form the setup on the disc.

If you know that is not the solution then WHAT IS???

wow I love a forum where you get no help whatsoever.

Sorry to say this, but the answers you get are = to the information you give. No one wants to touch this thread because you have a strange problem and very little information (Windows XP? Vista? Do you have other hard drives? Is Windows installed on that hard drive? What do the other drive icons look like? About when did the problem start? Have you had any other problems? etc etc etc...). The key is providing as much information as possible.