My PC won't boot all the way

Status
Not open for further replies.

ryan1980

Greetings,

This is my first time posting, so I hope I am in the right spot. I have a Gateway Media Center (842GM). It has windows XP Home edition, 3ghz CPU, 2gb memory, 8600 gts nvidia graphics card, sound blaster, DVD rom, rewrittable rom, hard drive, network card ... etc

This computer has been running fine until yesterday when I booted it up into SAFE MODE to install Burning Crusade (a game) as suggested by the makers. The game installed fine but after I rebooted the computer the "fit hit the shan" if you get me.

Now my PC won't boot all the way. Upon rebooting, I'll see the "Intel Logo" and the option to enter the BIOS (which doesn't work anymore), then it'll come up and say "We apologize for the inconvenience, but windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this. If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose Last Known Good configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked. If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the power or reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows Normally."

Then it gives the options for: Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Networking, Safe Mode with Command Prompt, Last Known Good Configuration, Start Windows Normally.

If I choose either "Safe Mode", "Safe Mode with Networking" or "Safe Mode with Command Prompt", it starts listing a bunch of files, for example "multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\amdagp.sys" most of them look like this. At some point it just stops loading and freezes / sits there and does nothing. I could let it sit for hours until I have to hard boot it.

If I choose "Last Known Good Configuration" it says the following: