My tower Power button will not work

Hello I am new to building the pcs so I am afraid I may have fried mine I really am pry I did not but this is what happened.

I finish the pc and when I turned on the power supply the power button on the motherboard glowed so then I pressed my tower button and nothing worked so then I re setup he F_PANEL cords u know the pwr switch and all that jazz. turns out it was set up wrong so I put them in right and tried to turn on the computer again the power button on the motherboard turns on but not my towers power button and so my pc will not officially turn on I am guessing and I am worried that I may have fryed my pc because when I took out the f panlle cords I realized my pc was still on and turned it off immanently and I am afraid that may have fryed the motherboard if anyone can help me it would be wonderful I am freaking out and have no Idea what the problem thank you for reading :D
P.S My tower button does not making a clicking sound when you push it I am not sure if that normal or it is broken or somthing it just doesnt make any click sounds

You could have a defective power switch on the PC case. Test this by using the reset switch as a temporary power switch. The power switch and the reset switch are the same for practical purposes except, of course, the size of the button (on most cases). If the reset switch works and is able to start the PC, then you know the power switch is defective.

You can also short out the two power pins with anything metal to test if its the case power buttons which are defective as mailpup mentioned.

OK, bear in mind you can also lock the power button on in Windows. (Control Panel > power options > when I push the power switch the computer>>>>does something).

Obviously, if you haven't tampered with those settings, this is a lower likelihood issue. But, it is possible.