NAS buying advice needed

daviddavidkam

Hi all, I am new to the world of NAS devices.
I have 5 X 3.5" Sata HardDisks which I would like to share the data around my home network.
I have 2 notebooks, 1 netbook, 1 iPad, 1 desktop and a PS3; I would ideally like to share my files with all devices, and it will be a bonus if I can create different user account for access.
I would like to spend around £150-£350 ($240-$550USD) on the NAS.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I recently ordered (and haven't even received yet) from Newegg a Synology 1511+. I was about to press the order button on a Drobo FS until I read all the owner complaints about network speed. I realize, though, that both of these devices are a bit outside of your budget. You might find it a bit difficult to get what you're looking for without stepping up to at least $600 US. The Drobo FS is around $600-630 and the Synology Diskstation 1511+ is around $800-820 US. I could only find 2 qnap devices that supported 5 drives - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...SpeTabStoreType=&AdvancedSearch=1&srchInDesc= .

My budget can stretch a little further to say, $850US.
Also, it does not need to house all 5 drives at the same time, so long as it can be swapped around easily.
And I guess I don't need for the NAS to come with any drives, since I have enough of my own already, right?
Any good recommendations?

Just got my Synology in and drives installed - setting it up now and will get some numbers... I'll let you know what I think about it soon. Dropped 5x slow but cool 2TB drives into it (since that should easily saturate even dual Gb speeds.)

Looks like I'll be looking at this sometime next week... this step is going to take quite a bit of time.

I'm just in the middle of reading the QNAP TS-412 review, seems very reasonable price, but not the best performer in speed.
But the DS411 is much faster, at a higher cost though.