Need Assistance Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

FLOAT

HI, I am a noob here, so if this does not get posted or replied please let me know what I can do to get an answer to my question. So here it is.

I have installed Windows XP Pro into my friend's computer, they did not know the product key and I couldn't find the product key on the puter until today. The 30 days is up and now the Activate window comes up after logging in. Guess what?, the product key is for Home Edition. Now, my friend has put files and pictures on the computer and they are not backed up and of course does not want to lose them. My tech buddy is lending me the install disc for WinXP Home Edition. here is the question: Can I install Windows XP Home Edition from Pro without having to format the drive? So that I may not lose any files or data.

Assistance is always appreciated.

You can use that install, but you need to call Microsoft and get their assistance in over writing the Windows install... You can give them a verbal report and they will verbally give you code back.. but you will need the machine there with you.

Thank You

Hi raybay, thanks for the reply and the info. I hope that MS support agents will get what I am doing. I called them today and it took them 5 times of the same explanation of what I posted here for them to understand what I was asking.

Thanks Again

"Don't try to be a great man, just be a man, and let history make it's own judgemets"
-Zefram Cochrane

One last thing

So if I am getting you clearly I can (100%) install Windows XP Home Edition to a computer that has Windows XP Professional installed and not lose any Files or Data?

If you have any more trouble, and have to talk to them again, be sure you are talking to the folks in Canada. They are more patient, and more helpful.

Thanks again

Sounds good, thanks again. Let me know if there is anything I may be able to assist you on in the future. Live long and prosper.