Need networking help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in the healthcare industry and remotely connect to my customer sites to install software, configure product code, do online training and troubleshoot problems with software.

Frequently, I have to connect to their private network using a VPN client. This one site, I do just that. Once connected to the private network, I can see I have an IP address in their private network range. However, I cannot ping any of the servers there and I cannot connect to our product servers.

An associate of mine has basically the same setup, however, he can connect to the customers servers where our products are located.

My server is sitting in the DMZ of my office router and therefore not being bothered by the firewall of the router.

Does anyone have any ideas why I cannot ping or connect to the servers once on their private network.

Thank you for any and all replies.

Just an educated guess ... but...

If you are behind a router (most people these days) dmz or otherwise. Chances are you are behind NAT.

If the remote network over VPN gives you an IP Address in the same range as your own network...

e.g. Your network gave you 192.168.0.100. The VPN network gave you 192.168.0.50. Both live on 192.168.0.0/24 network (255.255.255.0.)

Since that network (what they call "prefix") 192.168.0 is considered local to your computer ... it would not give your IP traffic to the router. It would just broadcast on the local network (ARP) looking for any IP that you were trying to reach.

Also ... with a VPN this might create an additional virtual "network interface"... in fact it probably does. So the other problem that crops up is that now you could have two "network connections" both claiming to be 192.168.0.0/24. So what does your operating system (Windows) do? Because really it doesn't work to have two network interfaces ... or two "network routes" for the same NETWORK.