Need to replace video card

By hlratliff
Apr 28, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Built a computer for my son to game on. I have a MSIK8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI mobo. I have been running two Nvidia NX7600GT's. One of them blew the other night. Any suggestions on what to upgrade to? I have a 600w power supply so I think I'm pretty good there.

I'm kind of new to the building and compatibility part; so any help would be wonderful and well appreciated.

Also, probably a stupid question but here goes. I assume that since I'm running dual cards now, I will continue to run dual cards? Would like to stay with Nvidia products.

Thank you in advance!
  2. Arris

Arris TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,536   +92

From what I can remember you have a few options:

- Run single new card, Nvidia GTX 460 or the 550Ti cards would offer decent performance at a mid to lower end price range. Or spend more for the top end Nvidia offerings GTX 580, not sure their minimum PSU recommendations, but at least require 2 x PCIe Power connectors.
    - Run dual cards, 1 new, 1 old 7600GT as NVIDIA® PhysX® processor, offloading that processing from the main new card.
    - Bin the old working card and run 2 x New. GTX 460s are nice in SLi but all others above this can run SLi too.

Just because it is an SLi motherboard it doesn't mean you have to run 2 cards. It will happily run one card, it just has support to also run 2.
  3. Zilliak

Zilliak TechSpot Enthusiast Posts: 233

Go amd

lol i like nvidia and if your a fanboy to them then use them. but currently im using the 5850, and to be honest it will be better to just run one nice high end card like a 6850 or higher or a 560ti or higher.
  4. Relic

Relic TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,392   +16

What type of budget are you working with for a new video card? What is the current resolution your son games at? Also could you tell us the specific brand/model of your power supply?