Network drives in ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrix86

Let me start off by saying I have never used any linux software before, and am completely lost. However, my wife want it on her computer, so it's there.

I need to know how to map a network drive in the latest Ubuntu. The drive is being mapped from my XP Pro machine to her Ubuntu machine. I have 2 folders on my external drive that she wants to be able to access from her computer.

I have done some google searching, but with no luck. Answers are either a little complicated or don't tell me how to get to where I need to be to do what they are saying (and since those threads are a few years old, posting in there seems pointless).

So I need to know what to do starting from the moment the desktop appears.

I can run Windows completely wasted (drunk) with my eyes closed, but when it comes to linux, I have no clue what i'm doing (and I told my wife this when she said she wanted it...I told her if anything went wrong that she would need to wait a few days before i could fix it where-as Windows I would have it done that day...oh well, lol)

Thanks for any help.

First file sharing on Linux is done with Samba -- primarily to share Linux files with other systems like Windows and OSX.

in the /etc/samba directory is smb.conf to control access to Linux resources from other systems; but you want the inverse.

First logon to Linux as root, get the Terminal application and
cd /
mkdir /pcshareName​
where pcshareName is the name of a specific share on one of your systems.
repeat for every pcshareName that the linux needs access to.

Prove you have access to the next command
which smbmount​
it should show the path that contains sbin and smbmount. If you don't find it, then you need to install Samba before proceeding

the raw command to get pcshareName mounted is
smbmount //winpc/pcshareName /pcshareName -o username=user,password=pass,rw

winpc is the PCname where pcshareName may be found