Newbie desperate for sound driver help

Status
Not open for further replies.

miketheratguy

Hey all, I joined here after seeing a very helpful looking thread by LookinAround. I would ideally love to chat with him/her, but perhaps someone could help.

Long story short, I have a Compaq cq 50 215nr that I switched from Vista to XP last night. I'm TOTALLY new to this, I only did this with a friend's help and install disc.

Things work fine except for the sound. I get a LOUD beep when messages pop onscreen but nothing else. I looked into it, all day, and have found a wealth of contradictory information. I'm totally confused and frustrated.

I found a site, which as I am new I can't link to, but found it by googling "Is the Compaq Presario CQ50-215NR Notebook PC only designed to use Vista?" and saw a post with many XP drivers for my specific machine.

I installed everything in order. My problems began with MS UAA, which prepared an install wizard but then quickly disappeared without launching one. Dunno if it installed. Tried again, same thing. I moved on to the audio driver, wound up being Conexant 221 apparently. I tried to install that and it wouldn't work, it said "Driver installation failed. Could not find the MEDIA device for this driver". I tried to install it manually using device manager, and it looked like it was installing only to stop and say that it can not work, and gave me a "Code 10", whatever that is.

So in other words, the two audio related drivers that people seem to agree are meant for this machine to play sound in XP, are not working. And I am totally confused as to what to do. The reason I was hoping to catch LookinAround is because I saw a 2 month old thread that provided someone with a specific, custom driver that worked for another person's machine, so someone who knows what they're doing, and has the patience to help someone TOTALLY new at this, would be absolutely awesome.

Can anyone please help me?

Hey miketheratguy :wave: