Newbie looking to upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry if there is a thread for this,but it seems to be locked.But I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to computer specs.But I'm sick of getting ripped off for pre made pc's so I want to upgrade myself.

My voltage is 34a
Intel Pentium Dual e2180 2.00ghz
The mother board is a Gigabyte LGA775
And Graphics card is a Geforce 8600gts
2gb of ddr2 memory (planning on getting anohter 2gb)

I also have another sytem,but its a bit older,has a worse graphics card and a single core cpu.It has more memory though and I do prefer AMD,the motherboard is an ASRock 939sli32 esata2, I "think" I was wondering If I should basicaly take out the hdd and scrap this.

I'm Looking to spend about £150 on a graphics card,But Im starting to realize my cpu is probaly going to need upgrading too if I want to game,and that might mean a new motherboard too.I cant really afford it all in one go but Im willing to invest to try and keep this rig future proof as much as I can.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me.
Danny

I just found out you can get an addon for my older so it can go 754/939 to socket 940(AM2)CPU so if thats a better board it might be worth upgrading that instead?.The upgrade is a AM2CPU Board

My voltage is 34a

What's that? Are you talking about amperage on your PSU's 12V rail? It would be good if you could tell us the brand and wattage of the PSU you are using.

The mother board is a Gigabyte LGA775

Use CPU-Z to give us the exact model of the motherboard. That way we might be able to see if there are better CPUs that your board supports.

I just found out you can get an addon for my older so it can go 754/939 to socket 940(AM2)CPU so if thats a better board it might be worth upgrading that instead?.The upgrade is a AM2CPU Board

There are a few decent AM2+ CPUs around like the Athlon X2 78f0 Black Edition. However, availability may be an issue.

I'm Looking to spend about £150 on a graphics card