Newcomers questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

TechNovice

I have just started looking around computer forums and have joined a couple.
I notice that sometimes a new person is chastized for a post. Often because it is an obvious kind of thing to long time members and tech pros. I am a complete novice with computers and I am willing to do some work of my own searching etc. When a search gets a few million hits it can take some time to find what you want especially when you dont always know the right search words.

I thought using forums such as this were kind of meant to help cut through all that searching and save some time. I agree that searching the forum itself should be done first.

I noticed in someones signature that there are no stupid questions. I hope that is truly the case on this forum.

greg
TechNovice

Yes, there is no such thing as a stupid question. Most of us try to help people to the best of our ability, but quite often there is someone who has to spoil the party. And if you take a look at who is doing it, nine times out of ten it is someone with very few posts who is just trying to get a rise out of someone else. As a mod, if I see this, I try to delete it as it brings no input to the thread, except problems.

Feel free to post questions, or just look around for knowledge. Enjoy the site, and

:wave:Welcome to TechSpot:wave:

Hello TechNovice and welcome to Techspot.

I agree with everything poertner says.

Don`t be put of by the few members who try to be as rude as possible.

The vast majority of folks here are very nice, and try to be helpful.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

i also understand how you feel. navigating through a tech site anywhere can be a problem especially when dont quite know what you are looking for.

as you may have found here, all the categories are listed, but first you still need to know which one to look for.
from what i can gather , techsperts are debating a beginners page.