No display, no beeps but all fans going

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi first time on board looking for an answer. I'm fairly new to building computers. I've only did it twice now. sooo,

I purchsed an ECS nforce4 - a939 board for the amd athlon 64 3000

Ok so I followed the the mb manual and made sure by checking and rechecking all connections that everything was connected in the proper place.

I've got the processor seated properly, ram, graphics card(radeon x850xt pci express), HD, Optical drive, PSU

So I plug in the PSU 24 pin adapter to my mb click the switch on the back and hit the reset button on the computer. Well, all the case leds, psu fan, case fans, cpu fan, graphics card fan all start up. So I'm thinking great!.

I then plug my monitor and and by the way it does work but get absolutely no display signal at all. My comp is not posting for some reason. There are absolutely no beeps whatsoever. So I left everything connected and went thru one by one changing first the cmos jumper. Nothing. Removed the ram (no beeps whatsoever on power up), removed the cpu (again no beeps upon power up).

So I have no clue what the problem could be. I've checked to make sure the mb is not shorting out somewhere. all risers are in place.

So does anyone know what my problem could be? I'm hoping it is this....

You know the atx 4pin 12v connector on the board? well, my PSU is a chiefmax 650W BUT the connector for it is spliced off the 24 pin connector that comes from the psu and heres the kicker the atx12v connector is all the way on the opposite side of the mb from the 24 pin connector and the cable is not long enough to reach it because of it being spliced off the 24 connector of the psu. In other words I can't plug into the motherboards 4pin 12v connector on the other side because my psu 4pin 12v cable is not long enough. I still get power to the mb without it being plugged in though with all fans and leds on.