No sound after reinstalling Windows XP

israelTECH

Hey guys, i recently re-installed windows xp on my Sony Vaio VGN T1XP/L (GB) - after doing so i now have no sound. i am not a complete noob because i have installed sound drivers before on my computer but it has never escalated to this level of frustration. i downloaded the drivers for my laptop and within the audio file was soundMAX and when i run it it unpacks and i get an error message at the end telling me the drivers were not found and i should reboot. when i went on the sony vaio website and i found my specific model it says:

Multimedia

Audio ChipsetAD1981B - 16-bit CD-quality stereo sound
Chipset ManufacturerAnalog Devices
Audio TypeAC Link

and i have downloaded Everest but funny enough in the summary there's no multimedia section :s ALSO in an attempt to fix the sound i recently logged in on safe mode and deleted the legacy audio drivers now in device manager the only drivers that show under sound, video and game controllers are:

- Legacy Media Capture Devices
- Media Control Devices
- Video Codecs

Here is my Everest Summary:

Field Value
Computer
Computer Type Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC (Mobile)
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Internet Explorer 6.0.2900.2180 (IE 6.0 SP2)
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name ISRAELS-LAPTOP
User Name Israel (Guyman)
Logon Domain [ TRIAL VERSION ]
Date / Time 2011-07-12 / 09:52

Motherboard
CPU Type Mobile Intel Pentium M ULV 733, 1100 MHz (11 x 100)
Motherboard Name Sony VGN-T1XP_L(GB)
Motherboard Chipset Intel Montara-GM+ i855GME
System Memory [ TRIAL VERSION ]
BIOS Type Phoenix (06/09/05)

Display
Video Adapter Intel Extreme Graphics 2
3D Accelerator Intel Extreme Graphics 2

Storage
IDE Controller Intel(R) 82801DBM Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 24CA
Disk Drive Generic STORAGE DEVICE USB Device
Disk Drive Generic STORAGE DEVICE USB Device (238 MB, USB)