No sound found on HP Pavillion dv6618ca

sadaf

Hi all, this is my first time here, so hopefully i will be able to be successful for what i am here

My problem is with my PC NOT having any SOUND at all!......
The sound symbol on the right hand corner of the screen has an X mark over it and when i move the mouse over it, it says "No audio output device is installed"
This is what i tried to fix from reading all the other similar posts on net .....
-I tried to restore my Pc to an Earliest point or b4 this problem occured and it didn't seem to fix the problem at all.
-I went to the HP software/hardware site to install the audio software and it didn't work either, once the installation was about to complete, it would display a message saying "Installation failed. no MEDIA device is installed for this driver.
- I also read people saying go to Device Manager and update the Audio, sound n so on thing, BUT there is no Such thing as audio, or such similar terms to click on and install/update it.
-so i decided to REFORMAT my PC, maybe that will fix it, I even reformatted the PC BUT STILL NO SOUND!!,
-so i tried to go back to the HP's website to install the audio software and it gave the same message again!

I recently spend alot of money trying to get the fan fixed and new battery, now i dont wanna end spending more on this sound (......I am hoping someone would really help me out and i really appretiate it .........thanks a bunch in advance

It almost sounds as though Windows no longer detects a sound card....

Check your BIOS. Is there any setting Enable / Disable Onboard Audio?

Report on any BIOS settings, then Generate a Problem Device report
  • Make sure all your devices are connected and powered on
  • Click Start->Run, enter: msinfo32. Click the + sign next to Components to expand it
  • Click Problem Devices. Anything appear?
  • If yes, click on it, Ctrl-A to select all, Ctrl-C to copy it, Ctrl-V to paste into next post
Generate and attach a DirectX report