Norton ghost/acronis image problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi

i work in the it industry we have just bought some new hp dc5800 and we have about 40 of them so we need to install of the software and make a image of one. over the last week we have tried lots of ways we first tried using norton ghost 11 using network support to make a image of the machine and store it to our server, we then get a new pc from the box try we use norton ghost 11 to put the image on the machine using network support, the image copies over fine with no problems but soon as you reboot the computer it fails to start it goes all through the windows loading screen but then it goes the the blue background with windows logo on it like it about to bring up windows but just hangs there. we tried several ways like back up to a hard drive, doing a partition image and a whole disk image but had the same problem and error at each reboot.

so at this point we are ripping our hair out to what the answer is as this was the second problem we encountered as the computer for starters did not like our service pack 1 volume license disc but service pack to disk sort that out.

so from there we went to acronis and used the backup facility to and hard drive then recovery to the new computer but still the same problems occurs when trying to boot windows. Then we tried using the clone disk feature but it would not see the second hard drive we put in the computer.

so at this point nearly a week after we got the computer we were still pulling our hair out. we figured maybe it is to new hardware for ghost 11 and acronis so we moved up to ghost 14.