Ntos.exe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ninte

I think that there is something wrong with my ntoskrnl, because it's showing up on the windows task manager and I'm pretty sure that it isn't supposed to. I'm not actually sure if it's virus/trojan related or something else. Really, I have no idea what to do or how to fix it. I'm not very technically savvy, so I was wondering if you guys could help me out with simple language and all that.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Let`s have a quick check for malware.

Go and read this thread HERE and post a HJT log as an attachment into this thread.

Regards Howard :)

What is Hijack This, exactly? I keep seeing it pop up in posts, but I don't really understand what it is.

It`s a tool that allows us to see if there`s malware on your system and in some cases stop it from running.

Just post the HJT log as requested.

Just as I suspected, your system is badly infected with a variety of malware, as well as a hijacker.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Please download FixWareout from one of these sites:
http://downloads.subratam.org/Fixwareout.exe
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/files/lonny/Fixwareout.exe

Save it to your desktop and run it. Click Next, then Install, make sure "Run fixit" is checked and click Finish.
The fix will begin; follow the prompts. You will be asked to reboot your computer; please do so. Your system may take longer than usual to load; this is normal.

Then, go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, please attach the C:\fixwareout\report.txt.

Also, let me know the results of the Panda Antirootkit scan.