Old work computer, need some help

Morpheus1967

Please forgive what may seem like a simple question, but I am new to this whole networking thing. The backstory:

I worked for a company a year ago that went out of business. When we were closing down, we were given the option of purchasing our work computers, which I did. My problem is now that when ever I turn the computer on, it is still asking for my username, password and domain. The username and domain are always there, I just need to enter the password (my old work password) to get the computer to finish booting up.

I would like to get rid of this login screen. I want to turn the computer on and have everything boot up without requiring a password, logging into a domain, etc. The reason I am trying to do this is because #1, it's a pain in the ****, and #2 I am going to be setting up a home network, and want to be starting fresh.

So the simple question is, how do I do this without affecting anything else on the computer?

Windows XP Professional

Thank you, I will give that a try. Now, being a noob to home networking, I need some advice. In the past, all I have had is a desktop computer connected to a modem. I just got a laptop as well, and I am going to be setting up a home network.

Here is what I want to do, and I am sure this is pretty basic. I want to run the PC, a laptop and a wireless printer. PC hard connected at wireless router.

What is the best bang for my buck as far as wireless routers go? I don't want a cheapy that has a weak signal, but I also do not need anything that lets me communicate with the space shuttle either. Ideas? And please remember I'm new at this. Thanks all.

Linksys routers seem to be fairly popular and they have good support on there internet site. Routers are supplied with very easy to follow instructions and a set up disc that doesn't need a degree in computing to understand.