Overclocking E8400 Suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

smu122

I was hoping to overclock my processor slightly... not too extreme, buy i dont think i have the required hardware. I have the stock intel heatsink and the RAM might be too cheap?

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e14/smu52/CPUZ/CPU.jpg
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e14/smu52/CPUZ/MB.jpg
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e14/smu52/CPUZ/Memory1.jpg
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e14/smu52/CPUZ/Memory2.jpg

Would it be safe to increase FSB just a little, in the pictures, I increased the FSB from 1333 stock to 1338. And my idle CPU is 50C and reaches 70C during Call of Duty 4
I have a 650W CoolerMaster PowerSupply. I mostly use my PC for gaming. Thanks

The E8400 is a fairly easy CPU to overclock; you should get better results if you drop the multiplier and raise the FSB. Setting the FSB speed a mere 5mhz faster isn't going to produce anything noticeable performance wise. The most important aspect of overclocking is the voltage and finding the correct settings for such as well as RAM timings and DRAM ratios. Now that probably sounds confusing but with a little digging you will be able to familiarize yourself more with the process. Having said that, there are plenty of overclocking resources on the net; a lot for the E8400 alone. Since every processor, mobo, and RAM stick will perform differently, this is the best way to start.

CPU-Z says you have an E6850...?
Yes you don't have good RAM, but that shouldn't matter for any light overclocking. and +fsb isn't going to help much

That is very high e8400, though it says E6850.

Can i lower DRAM to minimum, and slowly raise FSB until i reach 3.2Ghz? Also, while running ORTHOS, my cpu temperatures are at 85C. Is this safe?

Can i lower DRAM to minimum, and slowly raise FSB until i reach 3.2Ghz? Also, while running ORTHOS, my cpu temperatures are at 85C. Is this safe?
You probably don't even need to touch your DRAM, just leave it default.