Pagefile.sys delete

Status
Not open for further replies.

stagg73

I am having trouble rebooting my dell dimension which has window xp home edition installed. I originally got an error about 'not enough virtual memory' and from reading a bunch of boards, I think the issue is a corrupted pagefile.sys.

I've gotten into repair mode by bootinf from the CD, however, when I try to delete the pagefile.sys it says it can't be found. I was, however, able to map it and it showed the following path: \Device\Harddisk0\Partition1. I then typed the following commnd into the C:\Windows prompt: delete c:\Device\Harddisk0\Partition1\Pagefile.sys. When I do that, however, it says 'access is denied'. When it originally asked me for a password logging into the repair mode, i left it blank as I have no idea of the password is.

I'm a complete newbie, so any advice on how I'm approaching this, or how I can get myself proper access privilidges to delete the pagefile.sys, would be MUCH appreciated!

password is same for normal boot
can you boot to safe mode??
if you can right click on mycomputer go to properties
go to advanced performance and reset pagefile
I don't have any page file on my 1 machine I use ram stick only
but I guess if your Pagefile is corrupt you would get issues like this.
and from what you wrote your ahead of me in finding this by command prompt
so it seems just a matter of the password

The password is a non-issue. If you typed the password wrong, it would NOT let you into the command line in the first place. Recovery Console only logs in as Administrator user, and most people do not have a password on that account, unfortunately.

This doesn't matter anyway because Pagefile.sys is stored on the root of the boot partition, which you cannot edit in Recovery Console because it is outside the %systemroot% folder.