PC shuts down due to thermal heating

Status
Not open for further replies.

hitech0101

My old PC shuts down suddenly & when i turn it back on i hear a beep music & a message on the monitor "PC was shut down due to thermal heating" & then it works for hours without any problem. I checked fan & cleaned dust & also operated with the side cabinet covers open still the problem exists & the pc shut downs randomly not after a specific time interval.

I am a newbie sorry if you cannot understand what i have asked.

Okay, a few questions...

What were you doing just before it shuts down?
Does it work okay immediately after it shuts down? Everytime?
What do you know about your PC? (year, processor, m/b, anything and everything pls)
A rough idea how often it shuts down? (times/day or week or whatever)

Try putting some new thermal paste for you CPU.
First you wipe the old one off and use some alcohol to completely wipe the remaining old paste (be careful not to get the pins wet or dirty and wait for 5-10 minutes before adding the new paste). Only use a little amount of thermal paste on the middle of the CPU (look for some videos on youtube to see how much you should use).

Also don't buy cheap thermal paste.

PS: you can do the same for the GPU and northbridge if the CPU isn't the problem

can't see it being a heating problem unless it happens all the time. Probably a glitch somewhere.

I've got comps running for years without ever changing the thermal paste. Asking someone to change thermal paste to me is a waste of time if we have no clue what the problem is.

Changing the thermal paste old PC's can reduce heat by enough to stop it from overheating. (even more so when you use a good one like the one from thermaltake). But if the fan is the one at fault than i don't know how much it can help.

What were you doing just before it shuts down?
Does it work okay immediately after it shuts down? Everytime?
What do you know about your PC? (year, processor