TechSpot

PC stalls when doing disk clean-up...

By schizoid77
Mar 26, 2003
  1. Hey. I'm very new to all this so bear with me. I have XP home edition, I think, and tried to doing a disk clean-up under system utilities. The dialogue box comes up saying it's scanning hard drive/compressing old files....well, the problem is, it's been like that for more than 12 hours now? I've done it before and it took less than 30 minutes for it to complete...and now it's stalling. Any suggestions?
    I've rebooted and tried several times....goes back to the same screen and sits there.
    I'm running an HP 2.26 Pentium 4 with 768MB PC2100 ram, btw.

Much appreciated if someone can help....

2. schizoid77

schizoid77 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 124

Thanks peeps, I truly appreciate all the help :eek:)
    LOL

3. RustyZip

RustyZip TechSpot Paladin Posts: 418

Have you tried checking for errors on the drive ?? You should do so before doing any disk clean up...

4. schizoid77

thanks, but allow me to stroll down the ***** lane a little more and ask, "How do I check errors on the drive?" Is that what my virus scan does?
    Much appreciated yo

This is the first problem I've ran into since I bought the damn thing a year ago or so!!

5. negroplasty

negroplasty TS Maniac Posts: 537   +12

Try doing a defragmentation of your main hard drive. Basically, Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools and Disk Defragmenter. Once the window opens up, hit the defragment button; but be warned, this process can take a long time depending on the size of your hard drive, it will also slow down your computer a lot whilst running so make sure you don't have any important programs or unsaved work running in the background. After it has finished, do a restart and see if you can run Disk Cleanup without freezing. Luck to you :grinthumb !

6. schizoid77