PC won't start

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyitling

Hi everyone,

i am quite new to pc hardware but i am trying to find out what is wrong before i actually resort to buying a new pc..

here it goes... i have...
gigabyte 7VA rev 1.x KT400
amd 2100+
ram 512+128
geforce 6600GT
psu: coolermaster 450W
2x dvd rom
2x hdd

its not a new pc and i have been using it for about 5 years.. then one day while i was half using it... it just shut down by itself without any warning.. then it wouldn't start up again.. when i try again the next day.. it started up but no display and there was a beep(i think it was one long one) then the power button started blinking green instead of the constant light being on... i try to narrow down the problem but to no avail.. i stripped it to just one ram (tried both of them, one at a time), 1 hdd, no keyboard or mouse... but the same problem remains.. i don't think its the psu as the power is on with an amber light on on the motherboard and the cpu fan and graphics card fan is running... and unless both rams go crazy at the same time.. which i doubt.. it shouldn't be that either...

the only thing that i can think of now is the motherboard.. if that is the case i will need to get a new one and have a major overhaul to my pc....

any help will be greatly appreciated... and i am trying my best to get it solve or at least know the problem in 2 days time as i will be going to the city to get all the new parts then...

It could be: power switch failure, power supply failure, memory, video graphics, hard drive, CPU fan, sound card, or modem under certain conditions... more likely than the motherboard... but it could still be the motherboard.
You will have to change out some of the components to test it.
If your computer has a floppy drive, disconnect everything except the power supply, floppy drive, and connection to the monitor. Use a MS-DOS or Windows 98 floppy. See if that configuration will give you anything on the screen.