Performance issues, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sparton 10

hi, i'm a noob at this site and i wasn't quite sure where to post this, so sorry if i'm in the wrong place.
So anyway i have a
GA-P35-DS3 mobo
q6600 @ 2.6ghz OC,
2gb kingston 800mhz,
gigabyte GV-RX387512H-B (hd 3870),
500gb western digital sata 2
and a 500 watt psu.
My friend has extactly the same cuz we got them at the same time but for some reason he can run games fine at hi res but mine just can't hack it. For example cod4 maxed at 1600x1200 he runs at 40-60 fps but i run it at about 8-28 fps, he runs crysis at 30-40 fps high @ 16x1200 but i have to play it on lowest at that res to get playable frames. I was hoping someone would have an idea about what the problem is because i really would like to avoid sending it back because i've OCed it so i'm pretty sure theywont take it without money.

Any help would be appriciated, cheers :)

Ok so oyou both have the same system. I can tell you this COD4 should NOT NOT be 40fps avg or even 60fps avg, Also crysis shows a big difference between your exact same systems. Its ok bro were gonna help you fix your system so its same as your friends.

First thing is first.

Are you on x86 or 64 , Your friend is using ultimate and might be 64 OS version

We need to know what you both are using.

If your both on 32bit then that makes troubleshooting much easier.

Firstly the Home Edition of Vista does not include full DX10 support and probably a broken DX9 support. That's just random info. Not necessarily your situation.

Im concerend your using home and he ultimate.. soo we need to sort out which version u both are on.