Picking a Motherboard? please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeeLuck

Hi All,

This is my first post to the forums so i would like to take this chance to say hello and thanks for any help/advice offered.(posted in welcome forum too)

Right, firstly i dont know much about PC's, just self taught so please be patient with me if i dont quite follow you in the begining, i want to learn but need to pick it up as i go.

I own a Packard Bell iXtreme 2613
Core2 Quad Q6600 2,4GHz
500Gig HD
4Gig DDr2
Nvida card of some sort.

Now then, i have read much in the way that the Q6600 chip set can be overclocked to a reasonable speed without too much cash being thrown at it but the MB in this "bought" system wont allow me to OC it so i need to buy a new MB.

I talked to a guy at PC World and although he couldnt help me (job conflicts) he did suggest getting a new MB which are around the £70 mark.

I have no idea where to start with any of this hense joining this forum.

I dont doubt that there will be loads more bits of info needed from me but i will do my upmost to tell you what you want if there is any chance of helping me.

Reason i want to OC my PC is simple really, i use 3D character building programs and i want to upgrade to Windows 7 64bit to aid rendering time etc, my system at the moment is Vista 32 and my MB only has 2 slots so i cant up the ram any further either for a 64bit OS

Phew, hope all this makes a little sence, i better read it back lol

Thanks again for any help offered,

Kindest regards,

Lee.

If you're bent on keeping the Q6600, which is an older 65nm chip, then I would look for a board with an Intel P45 or P35 chipset in order to spend as little as possible. There are plenty of good choices from ASUS and Gigabyte, just browse P45 boards. If you're looking to get better 3D power, I would look at upgrading the video card as well. You may also just want to wait and buy a newer CPU, since the Q6600 is showing it's age now.