TechSpot

Please help, Can't get to the internet!

By thunderdrum
May 15, 2006
  1. I hope someone can give me some advice.

    I have 2 computers that can connect to each other via a new router but neither of them can connect out of the router to the internet.

    I can ping each computer through the LAN but if ping router 192.168.1.1 it says "timed out".

    If I make a direct connection to the internet from only one computer and the modem it can work fine.

    Any idea why my LAN on both computers can't ping the router to set it up?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. TypeX45

    TypeX45 TS Rookie Posts: 144

    If you are using dsl sometimes you have to turn off a few things in the modem. Like NAT, DHCP, and make the modem just a modem. If this is not done the router thinks that there is another router present and assigns the same addresses. Example you have your modem saying it is the gateway at 192.168.1.1 and the router saying it is the gatway at 192.168.1.1 and since both are acting like routers with the same address they can't talk. If you are using cable this also just might be the problem.
     
  3. thunderdrum

    thunderdrum TS Rookie Topic Starter

    that sounds like it could be the trouble

    I just checked my ipconfig as I am using it directly with the modem and it says the NIC my ip address is 192.168.1.3

    the gateway is blank

    but the DHCP and DNS servers are both 192.168.1.1

    of course the PPP adaptors info is different with a real IP number and DNS etc

    This is stange because for the last 2 years I had an old router and it worked fine. Then just last week my one computer had "no connectivity" and then last Sunday my second computer changed to the same situation while both attached to the old router. So I bought a new PCI NIC for the first computer and then bought a new router today. Hooked everything up and they are no longer showing "no connectivity" but now neither can connect to the new Router to program it with the ID and password for the ISP to get it working.

    I tried to unhook the router from the modem and try to get to the options directly but that didn't work either.

    My modem does not have any buttons on it. It is just the one the phone company sent when I signed up for internet service.

    So what would you suggest about the modem? Is there a way like a router to get inside it with an interface and change things around like NAT and DHCP?

    Thanks for you help so far it has been very usefull to understand this trouble
     
  4. thunderdrum

    thunderdrum TS Rookie Topic Starter

    OK

    I got a new Modem from the phone company.

    Now the IP of the modem and the router are different

    I could log into the modem and set the username and password for my ISP

    but now there is a new trouble,

    The modem says it is connected to the internet but when I load explorer or firefox I just get the white "can't find the website screen"

    but if I ping an address in CMD it can go through the router and connect no problems.

    I put my computer into the DMZ section of the router to try if I could see a website in a browser but it didn't work either.

    But if I use a connection directly to the internet and not through the router it can work fine.

    Please help.
     
  5. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,311   +617

    connet directly to the modem, run=>cmd /k ipconfig /all and report

    repeat with the router between the modem & system; report it too.
     
  6. thunderdrum

    thunderdrum TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Connected to the Modem



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mugbuster>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : studio
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-79-7D-07-2D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.116.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.116.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.116.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : May 19, 2006 12:21:33 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : May 19, 2006 1:21:33 AM

    PPP adapter r:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 221.190.91.46
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 221.190.91.46
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 221.113.139.164
    211.129.16.236
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    Connected to the Router then Modem



    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mugbuster>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : studio
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
    rnet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-79-7D-07-2D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.11
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : May 19, 2006 1:07:15 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : May 22, 2006 1:07:15 AM



    Ping Example throught the router


    C:\Documents and Settings\Mugbuster>ping www.yahoo.com

    Pinging www.yahoo.akadns.net [68.142.197.84] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.142.197.84: bytes=32 time=191ms TTL=46
    Reply from 68.142.197.84: bytes=32 time=194ms TTL=46
    Reply from 68.142.197.84: bytes=32 time=193ms TTL=46
    Reply from 68.142.197.84: bytes=32 time=191ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 68.142.197.84:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 191ms, Maximum = 194ms, Average = 192ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Mugbuster>
     
  7. benken2202001

    benken2202001 TS Enthusiast Posts: 114   +16

    go to Control Panel > Network Connections > right click on your connection > Status > Support tab.

    List for us what is assigning your Address
    do you have a IP - Mask - Gateway?
     
  8. altheman

    altheman TS Rookie Posts: 425

    ring your isp, and tell them to send you the correct router settings. after you put the right settings on your router, go to network connection, open the properties of your LAN ethernet, and enter the following:

    1) under tcp/ip, select use the following IP, and put in 192.168.1.x in the ip field(where x is any number above 1)
    2)put subnet mask as 255.255.255.0
    3)put default gateway as 192.169.1.1

    4)for DNS server settings, put the DNS servers your isp provided.

    doing the above will give your lan a static address. if that works, and you want a dynamic address, post back.
     
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,311   +617

    read the post before yours ... the data is already here
     
  10. thunderdrum

    thunderdrum TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you everyone for your help so far!

    Sitting at work and thinking about the home computer has been on my mind for a week. I will contact the ISP today for correct router settings and change the LAN properties.

    I am still confused why this actually happenned in the first place. I have had the same ISP for more than 2 years and everything was working perfectly until a week ago. This trouble is also on my wifes computer too. Any ideas?
     
  11. altheman

    altheman TS Rookie Posts: 425

    setting up the internet becomes more complicated with a router, and its not plug and play style as with a usb modem. (i had the same problem, but once i got the settings from my isp, it was a breeze. :) )
    as for your wife's pc, try my suggestions above, but do not give the same ip to both computers.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...