Please help - Video Driver problem, Direct3D Acceleration 'Not Available', Project64

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a complete and utter noob when it comes to computers, so please bear with me. Plus, this is a bit of a long story, so I apologise in advance, but I really don't have a clue what's happening with this computer...

So I'll start from the start:

I just downloaded Project64 onto my computer again because my hard-drive recently blew up or something, (manufacturer's fault, or so I'm told) and so I've had to start all over again loading my programs onto this new one.

Anyway, Project64 (emulation software I use to play old Nintendo 64 games on, though you probably all know that already, I'm not sure) used to work fine with my old hard drive, but for some reason when I open it up now it comes up with this Error message that reads:

'Direct3D failed to initialize
Error code: 8876086A
D3DERR_NOTAVAILABLE'

So I click OK, and then this pops up:

'The default or selected video plugin is missing or invalid.

You need to go into Settings and select a video (graphics) plugin.
Check that you have at least one compatible plugin file in your plugin folder.'

So then I click OK again, and it takes me into Project64's Settings, and I'm quite convinced at this point in time that the problem's not with the video plugins at all, because I do have compatible ones and they should work. (I'm using Jabo's Direct3D8 1.6 as a video graphics plugin and that used to work on this same computer).

Anyway, I click out of the Settings because I have no idea what I'm doing in there, and then it opens the Project64 window, as if nothing's wrong. That is, until I click on 'File - Open Rom' and try to open one of my games when another Error message pops up and says:

'Cannot open a rom because plugins have not successfully initialised'

I then clicked on 'Options - Configure Graphics Plugin...' and yet another Error message pops up and says: