Please recommend a good Linux distro for my laptop

I have a Toshiba Laptop with Windows 7, specs are listed in my system specs, and would like to try tinkering and spending time learning new stuff. I want to be able to dual-boot and it would be nice if the OS is stable enough that it won't destroy my windows 7 to the point of having to reinstall everything.

P.s. - I have no experience with linux, but am ready to learn and spend some time on it.

Thanks in advance :)

Most people consider "Ubuntu" the most polished Linux distro; http://www.ubuntu.com/

That said, you won't destroy your Windows installation installing it either. This assumes that your HDD is much closer to empty, than it is to full, so there won't be any problem creating a small Linux partition. Ubuntu reads NTFS, all you files would be accessible with it.

Now, there are problems if you decide you no longer want Linux on the machine. "GRUB", the Linux boot loader, sets Linux as the default OS and Windows must be chosen at startup. Attempting to remove Linux trashes GRUB, and there must be repairs made to the Windows install, or it no bootie.

I haven't dealt with LInux in a while, the novelty kinda wore off for me.

As above, but:

Use Ubuntu 10.10 as a Live version running from a memory stick. (1GB is fine).

The reason I suggest that is because you can test it beforehand, running in live mode via the memory stick, and see good performance as USB is faster than a CD, whilst making no physical changes to your hard disk.

That way you can try it before commiting. :)

I'm guessing, "memory stick" British slang for, "flash drive". (If not, feel free to correct me). The only reason I ask is that, "Memory Stick", is Sony's proprietary term for their own flash memory camera cards.

That said, you can also run most Linus distros "live", right off the CD also. (But you knew that). That said, there do seem to be many issues reported here, attempting to boot OSes off flash drives.