Plug and Play BIOS Extension - Code 39

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meilei

Hello,

On and off I've been having a problem with my keyboard where it will sometimes decide not to work. My friend suggested that I check to see if the USB port was the problem behind it. So, I went into the Device Manager to take a peek for a faulty USB port, but instead discovered that the "Plug and Play BIOS Extension" had a yellow exclamation mark on it.

When I had a look at the device status on it, it said:
"Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)".

I have no idea what to do about this. I'm not a techie person, so I'm really lost.

On a side note, this problem has also occurred with my mouse. And for the previous times that I had to deal with this problem, I just simply plugged the keyboard/mouse into another USB port and it worked fine after that. However, I just want to get this problem resolved, it's starting to worry me.

I would greatly appreciate any help given.

Hi Meilei

Have a look at this page from Microsoft, it's quite long but just scroll down to the entry for Code 39.

support.microsoft.com/kb/310123

Good luck!

Okay, so, I had my brother check the issue out for me. But I'm still confused about this situation as the keyboard still won't respond in the 2 USB ports that I had used from before when the problem first occurred months ago. The only reason why I'm able to type is because it's plugged into another USB port that I have never plugged the keyboard into until a few days ago.

So, here's what we did: