Poor performance on new gaming PC

Hi.
I'm just getting into pc gaming but since i had my new desktop build i haven't had the best results with gaming.
I get poor performance on pretty much every game i've tried from Mass Effect 2/ crysis 1 and 2 and now Arkham Asylum.
I get a lot of frame rate drops and in some cases like crysis 2 i can't even play on medium settings without massive drops.
I've tried a lot of tweaks, research etc but i'm pretty much going crazy here. Help me out.

Chipset : AMD 880G
Processor : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3200MHz
Physical Memory : 8192MB (4 x 2048 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570
Hard Disk : Western Digital WD5000AAKS-00UU3A0 ATA Device (500GB)
Hard Disk : Hitachi HTS543232L9A300 (320GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : ELBY CLONEDRIVE
DVD-Rom Drive : ATAPI iHAS324 B
Monitor Type : Toshiba TOSHIBA-TV - 40 inches
Network Card : Realtek Semiconductor RTL8168/8111 PCIe Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Operating System : Windows 7 Ultimate Professional Media Center 6.01.7600 (64-bit)
DirectX : Version 11.00

So are u sure your video card and CD player are up to date. It seems to me like your software is not up to date. U should install the latest software to make sure your games run right.

Your low FPS with a machine like yours seems very strange. You should theoretically be able to rip through those games with ease, with maybe the exception being Crysis at max settings.

But yeah, usually in these situations, its just out of date drivers. If you are absolutely sure all of your drivers for MOBO,GPU..etc then we can rule that out.

Are you running any programs that may be pretty demanding during gameplay? Do you use any ADD-ons for your games, or programs to increase performance?

What resolution do you play at?

Also, make sure all your games have the necessary updates and patches. That too could cause some issues.