TechSpot

Problem with using shortcuts

By woodsman
Sep 2, 2009
  1. I am new to Tech Spot but everything I have read so far looks great. Everyone seems very friendly and helpful. I will do my best to follow suit. I have windows xp and am using Fire Fox as my browser. I made some changes very late last night and can't remember exactly what they were. I was trying to fix a problem clicking on links in my emails ( outlook) . I fixed the problem but now when I click on a shortcut to a website from my desktop I get a dialog box that says " windows cannot find" whatever website the shortcut is for " make sure you typed the name correctly and try again or click on search...." but then the web page opens anyway. I have tried to correct this but am at a loss. Any suggestions? It is just annoying. The web page still opens but I have to click "OK" in this message box first. Thanks.

2. raybay

raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 7,241   +9

Time to do a clean install from a cold boot, and keep notes. These early steps are critical to a properly running Windows machine.

3. woodsman

woodsman TS Rookie Topic Starter

Thank you my friend, I really appreciate it! Keep smiling!

4. Bobbye

Bobbye Helper on the Fringe Posts: 16,335   +36

No, no! Don't do a new install for this small problem!

First of all: don't make changes late at night when you're tired- unless you write every one of them down!

Second, shortcuts- whether they are ones you've created on the desktop or have in a toolbar, can get corrupt. Same for Bookmarks.
    Enter the URL fresh in the Address bar> if you can access this way, make a new shortcut and delete the previous shortcuts/

Another thing that will cause a shortcut to fail is if a site is being worked on or has been changed in some way. In that case, best to clean out your temp files- get rid of saved URL that no longer work.
    Try this one:

TFC (Temp File Cleaner)

Download TFC to your desktop
    • Open the file and close any other windows.