Problems running Check disk

Status
Not open for further replies.

vavash

Hello, i'm new to the forms, and was hoping someone could help me out with my problem.

I first found it out when i tried to run Defrag i got an error message saying
" Disk defragmentter has detected that Chkdsk is scheduled to run on the volume: (C: ).
Please run Chkdsk /f. "
When i tried to run Chkdsk /f I got this error message
"The disk check coululd not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some windows files on the Disk. These files can be accessed only by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule this disk check to occur the next time you restart?"

And when i ran the chkdsk in the command prompt i got this message
"The type of the file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.

Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the net time the system restarts y/n"
In Both cases the chkdsk did not run upon restart

I've tried to run both chkdsk and the defrag in safe mode, and both would not work, including the running chkdsk when restarted.

And I'm not sure if this is related but i have a file that is "corrupted and unreadable" the file is C:\WINDOWS\$N44E4~1.SH!\fltmgr.sys and cannot delete or repair it.

real quick about my computer. its a dell inspiron E1505 running windows xp media center edition with service pack 3. I have two hard drives my main drive C: and my back up drive D:
note, I don't have problems running defrag or check disk on the D: drive. Only on the C: drive

Thanks for taking your time to read this, and if you have any ideas what i can do to solve this problem

-Chris

Thanks for the quick responce.

I should have added the actual message in from the begining, but when i run chkdsk in command prompt i get this message

"The type of the file system is NTFS.
Cannot lock current drive.