Q6600 Won't OC. Period.

Status
Not open for further replies.

X DarthMonkey X

Okay, it's been a while since I've posted a problem, and I hope I can communicate it properly lol.

The Hardware:
-=Mobo1: Gigabyte EP43-DS3L
-=Mobo2: Abit FP-IN9 Fatal1ty
-=CPU: Intel Core2Quad Q6600
-=GPU: ATi Radeon HD4850
-=RAM: 4GB OCZ DDR6400
-=PSU: 620W (Forgot brand... I'll add it if I remember)

More Detail
-=Chipset1: Intel P45 (Gigabyte board)
-=Chipset2: nVIDIA 650 (Abit Fatal1ty board)
-=OS: Windows Vista Ultimate x64
-=Cooling: Zalman 9700NT / Tagan El Diablo (Frigga-huge fan on the site =D)

The Issue At Hand
Well, it's pretty simple. I can't get it to boot overclocked... not at all - on either of these boards, each of which has been touted for easy overclocking (on a budget).

I'm not a newbie to Overclocking... but I AM a newbie to overclocking Intel chips (A previous AMD Fanboy). I've been told, and have always assumed, that it's the same idea.

I gave up a month ago when it just didn't work, but now it just sits there, with that giant Zalman and the 360mm case fan doing nothing but look cool (Which they do excellently).

What I've already tried pretty much comprises what's worked for me in the past; raise the clock speed in increments, raise voltages marginally, and/or lower the clock and raise the multiplier. Every time, no matter how minimal the change was, my computer failed to post, but instead beeps violently (yes, violently) on both boards, forcing me to clear the cmos and start over (Thankfully, the Gigabyte does this automatically)

Is it possible my chip may just be non-OC-able for some odd reason? The NV650 BIOS menu said it was unlocked (or something like that. Remember, it was over a month ago).

Any help would be appreciated.

The Short (and mandatory silly) Version

Meh Q6600 runs great at 2.4GHz, but phailzors at 2.41GHz. Not kidding. a speed increase of 10MHz causes BIOS beeps and I gotta clear the cmos.