TechSpot

Radeon 9200 work with a 300W PSU?

By CristianL15
Apr 2, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. hello,

    the ati radeon 9200 works with a 300w power supply?

    sorry for my english, I'm from Argentina ^^
     
  2. Win7Dev

    Win7Dev TS Evangelist Posts: 560   +172

    Yes it should work just fine.
     
  3. CristianL15

    CristianL15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks :D
     
  4. jeremy1982

    jeremy1982 TS Rookie Posts: 69

    depends on how many megs it has!! How big is the card? 300 watt isn't that much i had one and never got the full potential out of my hardware!! And this 300 watt was pushing a 1.9 ghz cpu 512 meg video card 2 gigs of ram and that is including two hard drives!!

    I found 500 watt to be efficient enough!! You will notice a lack in FPS because your not getting the right amount of wattage to all your hardware!!
     
  5. CristianL15

    CristianL15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    ati radeon 9200 256mb

    i have 320gb hard drive, 1.5gb ddr ram, processor amd athlon 2800+ 1.8ghz :)

    ok?
     
  6. jeremy1982

    jeremy1982 TS Rookie Posts: 69

    i would go for the 500 watt it will give you enough power!! the 300 watt really isn't enough power!! your specs are really close to what i use to have except your hard drive were alot bigger than what i had!! 300 watt will work but you will notice games to drop in fps.
     
  7. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 3,435   +145

    I disagree with all his/her posts on this thread.
     
  8. jeremy1982

    jeremy1982 TS Rookie Posts: 69

    If you disagree then please share your opinion!!

    I just don't see how a 300 PSU can be enough power!! I had similar comuter to his and 300 was not enough!! I saw major fps change in cs 1.6 when i switched to 500 watt and that game does not take much to power it!! Im going off of personal experience too.

    It all depends on what your using the computer for!!

    Don't you think it would be just easier to post helpful opinion instead of saying you disagree with everything!! There isn't really a right or wrong answer to the person question since any power supply would really work. As i said im going off of my own experience since i had very similar computer to his!!
     
  9. CristianL15

    CristianL15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    thanks all
     
  10. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 3,435   +145

    I just think the person above sounds like they know what they're talking about more. You said that it depends on how much memory the card has, which is not true, that's why I doubt your opinion.
    Also, I'm going to mention that I don't know the answer to the question; thread starter, for an actual answer, you need to take a look and see how many amps are on your power supply.
    I'm betting the person above just assumed that you're on your stock power supply, which is probably true.
     
  11. CristianL15

    CristianL15 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    I should do?

    I have to buy a new power supply?
     
  12. Mizzou

    Mizzou TS Enthusiast Posts: 823

    For cards of this era a general rule of thumb is whether or not you need to provide additional power, typically through a molex connector adapter. If you don't need the added power connection in most cases you'll be fine with the 300 watt power supply. If the card requires an external power connector you'll likely need to consider upgading to a 400 watt power supply. I'm with Win7Dev and believe you'll be just fine.
     
  13. jeremy1982

    jeremy1982 TS Rookie Posts: 69

    I like to play games on my computer and i found 300 watts to not be enough power is all im saying if those are your intentions for your comp!! 300 watt will power your computer!! Stick with it the 300 watt if your using it for work and web browsing related!! Win7dev is correct but it just depends on what your using it for!
     
  14. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 3,435   +145

    Jeremy1982, I didn't make it clear before, but it's not the wattage that's important, it's the 12v rail amperage in this case. I'm sure it would not be hard to find a low quality 500w power supply that is weaker than my 380w. The point is that comparing wattages is a moot point really.
     

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...