Raid-0 BackUp question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Or any RAID backup for that matter. Be patient ... I'm new at this.

I have two 1TB Lacie triple interface drives... for video editing...was going to use one for raw footage... then the other for completed edited video.

Ok, so raid0 separates info into blocks for video speed performance on large files...but no backup safety... but if I back up this RAID drive to a normal non-raid external drive ...say a Maxtor 500gb.... how will I restore the info 'blocks' properly to the separate raid disks enclosed in the Lacie Raid drive ... a new one since the old one failed... if the old one failed. Is this making sense? Do I need to backup to another 2disk raid external unit..and how will it know the separation of blocks on the original drive? I guess to summarize... since a RAID external drive does things differently... how do you back it up...the info has been allocated differently....no?

Thanks in advance

While I'm here... a guy told me to use firewire to (raw footage) computer ...usb2.0 from (completed, edited) computer... to avoid firewire 'clog'. Is this true? If so, which would you use for which? Firewire for 'to'... usb for 'from'?? Or reverse.

since a RAID external drive does things differently... how do you back it up...the info has been allocated differently....no?
NO :) There are multiple LAYERS of 'abstracted' data. Each layer shown here goes from the most abstract (the application) to the most specific (sectors on the raw media)
Code:
[COLOR="Blue"]application[/COLOR]
  [COLOR="blue"]records[/COLOR]
     [B]filesystem[/B]
        clusters
           blocks
              [COLOR="Red"]sectors[/COLOR]
                 hd raw media
The RAID-X filesystem is an alternative to the normal NTFS filesystem.
The Application has no idea of what a filesystem is let alone
how to actually read/write the sectors

Than said, any backup program is just another Application when it is creating the backup --