Randomly laggy DSL

By carolinaboy
May 30, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hello, iv been having problems with my internet since the start of this month it runs perfectly fine but randomly it will lag spike ( Can't load web sites, can't do anything really ) but it won't DC ( It has went to local internet only a couple times but came back to full internet really fast ).

    It will do this randomly, it can spike for 15 seconds to 15 minutes and these spikes can happen constantly for an hour or not even happen for an hour, Iv contacted my ISP and they sent someone over to check my phone line ( Modem DSL Broadband btw ) and they said they found no errors, they also changed my network server to a different one, they checked to see if i had a virus or was getting DDOSd they said everything came up clean.

    Iv ran a ping test on various sites, and it will be normal but during the lag spikes ill have anywhere between 75% packet loss or 100%.

    Iv also pinged my default gateway (without the router) and i get the same thing, Request Timed out.

    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=100ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=98ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=64
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=110ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=109ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 137.118.216.1:
    Packets: Sent = 178, Received = 158, Lost = 20 (11% lo
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 32ms, Maximum = 110ms, Average = 37ms

    Does anyone have any idea of what could be causing this, I never had these issues before.

    The modem is brand new, They gave me new ethernet cords and everything, Also when i reboot my modem and it comes back on it won't connect to the primary DNS server when i run diagnose and i have to restart my computer before i can load any websites.

    I use windows vista.
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,753   +156

    So your ISP (Internet Service Provider) is no help with this? After all it is their responsibility isn't it? What are your computer's complete specs? Have you run any antivirus and anti-malware scans yet
  3. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    They didn't really do much they sent someone over but all he knew how to do was check the modem and phone line, witch he did and said everything came through clean, he also changed my network channel to another one and gave me new ethernet cords.

    I have run anti-virus, and Anti-malwarebytes my computer is clean as can be.

    Dell Inspiron 519
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+ 2.70 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    64-Bit Operating system
    9500 Geforce gfx card

    Everything is up to date, and runs perfectly fine.
  4. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,753   +156

    Call your ISP back and tell them about the time out problem...
  5. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Well heres the thing, When i call the people who answer the phone know how to do 1 thing, and thats tell you how to reboot the modem and run a speedtest, after that they say there gonna transfer me to level 2 tech, witch takes 2 days and then they do nothing but say there sending someone over to check it out.

    So i would like to narrow down the reason behind the spikes so i can just tell them, Because i have told them about the request timed out, and they said it was a bandwidth problem and i need to upgrade, when iv used this same internet before and never had the issue.
  6. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    send the ISP support a sample of your trace
    Also try using TRACERT 137.118.216.1 (assuming this is the ISP gateway address)
    or you could also tracert to their DNS. They should understand that is has to work,
    but you should also understand that it could be your connection to the modem itself.
  7. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Tracing route to microsoft.com [207.46.197.32]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 101 ms * * 137-118-139-129.wilkes.net [137.118.139.129]
    2 100 ms 101 ms 101 ms 137-118-187-158.wilkes.net [137.118.187.158]
    3 * * 103 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    4 106 ms * * ge-6-19.car2.Charlotte1.Level3.net [4.71.126.21]

    5 * 105 ms * ae-11-11.car1.Charlotte1.Level3.net [4.69.132.16
    5]
    6 * * 110 ms ae-4-4.ebr1.Atlanta2.Level3.net [4.69.132.162]
    7 * 113 ms * ae-1-100.ebr2.Atlanta2.Level3.net [4.69.132.34]

    8 * 66 ms 71 ms ae-2-2.ebr2.Miami1.Level3.net [4.69.140.141]
    9 61 ms 58 ms 59 ms ae-2-52.edge1.Miami2.Level3.net [4.69.138.107]
    10 67 ms 67 ms 69 ms MICROSOFT-C.edge1.Miami2.Level3.net [4.59.80.22]

    11 67 ms 68 ms 68 ms ge-0-0-0-0.mia-64cb-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.47.1
    3]
    12 84 ms 88 ms 87 ms ge-3-0-0-0.dal-64cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.43.2
    34]
    13 129 ms 129 ms 128 ms ge-2-1-0-0.co2-64c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.40.10
    4]
    14 130 ms 130 ms 131 ms ge-0-1-0-0.wst-64cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.43.1
    95]
    15 128 ms 129 ms 129 ms ge-7-1-0-0.cpk-64c-1b.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.43.22
    8]
    16 128 ms 129 ms 128 ms ten3-4.cpk-76c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.47.197]
    17 130 ms 129 ms 131 ms 10.22.0.26
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 10.22.0.22 reports: Destination net unreachable.

    Trace complete.


    What do you think it is ?
    Thanks for all the replys
  8. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    those are NOT your ISP nor your problems, but rather a set of nodes in your path to microsoft.com.

    Notice the last good node was @ 207.46.47.197 and that the 10.22.0.26 is in the non-routable, private IP set - -
    this means it belongs to 207.46.47.197 (msn.net).

    The timeouts could be black hole routers (google for that term).
  9. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    guess what - - I get the same result!
    Code:
     10    26 ms    28 ms    28 ms  209.240.198.227
     11    27 ms    42 ms    27 ms  ge-3-3-0-0.by2-64c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.40.62]
     12    45 ms    47 ms    47 ms  ge-7-1-0-0.wst-64cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.40.67]
     13    47 ms    47 ms    47 ms  ge-1-0-0-0.cpk-64c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.43.218]
     14    45 ms    47 ms    47 ms  ten2-4.cpk-76c-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.47.191]
     15    48 ms    47 ms    47 ms  10.22.0.26
     16     *        *        *     Request timed out. 
     17     *        *        *     Request timed out. 
     18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    but I can also access microsoft.com/
  10. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 * * 36 ms 137-118-187-158.wilkes.net [137.118.187.158]
    3 38 ms 35 ms 44 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    4 40 ms 40 ms 40 ms floyd-edge1.swva.net [66.37.64.149]
    5 41 ms 38 ms 39 ms floyd-edge2.swva.net [66.37.64.118]
    6 47 ms 59 ms 49 ms wsip-66-210-100-133.rn.hr.cox.net [66.210.100.13
    3]
    7 101 ms 80 ms 52 ms 98.172.172.13
    8 49 ms 47 ms 48 ms ashbbprj01-ae7.0.rd.as.cox.net [68.1.1.25]
    9 48 ms 48 ms 49 ms ae-6.pat2.dce.yahoo.com [216.115.102.176]
    10 75 ms 95 ms 198 ms ae-6.pat2.dax.yahoo.com [216.115.96.21]
    11 87 ms 95 ms 96 ms ae-1-d111.msr2.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.103]
    12 86 ms 106 ms 95 ms ae-2-d101.msr1.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.107]
    13 96 ms 89 ms 97 ms te-8-1.bas-c1.mud.yahoo.com [68.142.193.5]
    14 95 ms 94 ms 95 ms te-8-1.bas-c1.mud.yahoo.com [68.142.193.5]
    15 96 ms 95 ms 113 ms ir1.fp.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]

    Trace complete.

    What about that one?
  11. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    timeout on #1?? Ouch, that's your equipment. It could be the router is set to not respond to the PING protocol (which no one is requried to do). The test would be to
    ping yahoo.com and not get timeouts (saying you're reaching the far-end successfully).
     
  12. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    That tracert was taken without a router, i had the modem hooked up straight to my PC.

    And i get ZERO time outs when i don't lag spike, but i try and run those tests during a lag spike to see if i can find someone to help me zone in on the issue causing them.

    heres another that has a different timed out.

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 161 ms 101 ms 123 ms 137-118-139-129.wilkes.net [137.118.139.129]
    2 102 ms 100 ms 100 ms 137-118-187-158.wilkes.net [137.118.187.158]
    3 138 ms 77 ms 60 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * 104 ms 66.37.64.118
    6 49 ms 49 ms 49 ms wsip-66-210-100-133.rn.hr.cox.net [66.210.100.13
    3]
    7 47 ms 49 ms 49 ms 98.172.172.13
    8 72 ms 79 ms 48 ms ashbbprj01-ae7.0.rd.as.cox.net [68.1.1.25]
    9 49 ms 52 ms 59 ms ae-6.pat2.dce.yahoo.com [216.115.102.176]
    10 162 ms 135 ms 157 ms ae-6.pat2.dax.yahoo.com [216.115.96.21]
    11 88 ms 85 ms 96 ms ae-1-d111.msr2.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.103]
    12 120 ms 122 ms 129 ms te-8-2.fab1-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.149]

    13 99 ms 94 ms 141 ms te-8-2.bas-c2.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.175]
    14 96 ms 92 ms 96 ms ir1.fp.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]

    Trace complete.

    and heres one lag free:


    Tracing route to google.com [74.125.93.105]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 36 ms 37 ms 34 ms 137-118-139-129.wilkes.net [137.118.139.129]
    2 36 ms 35 ms 37 ms 137-118-187-158.wilkes.net [137.118.187.158]
    3 34 ms 35 ms 35 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    4 41 ms 40 ms 40 ms ge-6-19.car2.Charlotte1.Level3.net [4.71.126.21]

    5 40 ms 41 ms 42 ms ae-11-11.car1.Charlotte1.Level3.net [4.69.132.16
    5]
    6 44 ms 46 ms 46 ms ae-4-4.ebr1.Atlanta2.Level3.net [4.69.132.162]
    7 45 ms 47 ms 45 ms ae-17-51.car1.Atlanta4.Level3.net [4.69.150.7]
    8 69 ms 45 ms 51 ms GOOGLE-INC.car1.Atlanta4.Level3.net [4.53.233.13
    8]
    9 47 ms 46 ms 46 ms 72.14.233.54
    10 60 ms 60 ms 62 ms 209.85.254.226
    11 60 ms 61 ms 61 ms 209.85.254.239
    12 61 ms 74 ms 68 ms 216.239.47.34
    13 60 ms 62 ms 61 ms qw-in-f105.1e100.net [74.125.93.105]
  13. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    demonstration of
    yet access to http: // microsoft.com/ is perfectly good
    (it is using HTTP protocol and not the ping protocol)
  14. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    modem vs router doesn't make a difference - - the issue is the same.
    timeouts after your gateway you can not control; timeouts at your modem or router IS your equipment - -

    see this and run the lspfix. retest and if there's timeouts at #1
    I would start looking for a replacement modem.
  15. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Tracing route to rad0.wilkes.net [137.118.136.10]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms rad0.wilkes.net [137.118.136.10]
    2 * 723 ms 705 ms 137-118-139-129.wilkes.net [137.118.139.129]
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * 672 ms 383 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    5 38 ms 37 ms 38 ms rad0.wilkes.net [137.118.136.10]

    Trace complete.

    Thats the trace to my default gateway.

    The modem is less then a week old, i replaced my old modem that worked perfectly fine with this same problem, and the new one does the same thing, my ISP sent someone over to check everything ( including the modem ) And he said its working like a charm.

    When i run the LSP-Fix, it tells me to move a file to the right hand side but i don't see the file hes requesting me to move

    [3] In the left hand column, you should see the nwprovau.dll/b] files listed.

    Also with the LSP up it says theres no problems found. ( If that even means anything )

    I don't mean to sound pushy or like i know what im talking about because im sure you know alot more about this then i do and i appreciate your help, i would just like to find out if it's on my end or there end before i call back my ISP.
  16. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    if the LSPFIX says nothing is wrong, then leave it and just quit the program.
    address only issues shown to you.
    Code:
    i would just like to find out if it's on my end or there end before i call back my ISP. 
    sure - - that's the goal.
    Code:
    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms rad0.wilkes.net [137.118.136.10]
    2 * 723 ms 705 ms 137-118-139-129.wilkes.net [137.118.139.129]
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * 672 ms 383 ms 137-118-136-1.wilkes.net [137.118.136.1]
    5 38 ms 37 ms 38 ms rad0.wilkes.net [137.118.136.10]
    Trace complete.
    
    Thats the trace to [B]my default gateway[/B].
    huh? 5 hops away?
    Normally it is nop #2

    Please get a command prompt and enter IPCONFIG /ALL and paste the results in your follow-up
  17. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : wilkes.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wilkes.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-0B-12-02
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f46a:58a1:fe7e:7a1e%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 1:32:33 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 1:32:32 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251666843
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-A3-51-6D-00-21-9B-0B-12-02

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    137.118.1.32
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.wilkes.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:101b:3f63:3f57:fe9b(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::101b:3f63:3f57:fe9b%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wilkes.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.100%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    137.118.1.32
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    I think you wanted it all right? And i have my router hooked up now so the default gateway and stuff is different than before
  18. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    FYI followup:
    that ISP has internal issues
    the 78ms +/- 5% would be normal, but time jumping +100ms is terrible
  19. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    So what do you recommend i do, How do i go about telling them to fix it?
  20. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    this system has IPv6 enabled; google for disable IPv6 and apply the solution that fits your system {xp, vista, win/7}. this will reduce the TCP stack on your system and simplify the work for your network equipment.

    Please: stick with one wiring scheme - - it doesn't help to be working with a moving target :)
  21. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    well i didn't configure that much less know how so :| ill work on that asap
  22. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 13,354   +302

    First get email access to the help desk.
    then copy the tracert in post#1, #15, #18

    I wanted the ipconfig /all when directly connected to the modem as it would disclose the ISP configuration instead of that for your router.
  23. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Okay, i just disabled IPv6 and restarted my computer, and ill get that ipconfig for you asap.

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : wilkes.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wilkes.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-0B-12-02
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.217.116(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, May 31, 2011 3:24:04 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 01, 2011 3:24:04 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.216.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    137.118.1.32
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.wilkes.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:86a:b6b:7689:268b(Prefer
    red)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::86a:b6b:7689:268b%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wilkes.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.wilkes.net
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::200:5efe:137.118.217.116%13(Preferr
    ed)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    137.118.1.32
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wilkes.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:8976:d974::8976:d974(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 137.118.136.10
    137.118.1.32
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
  24. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Tracing route to 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 * * 101 ms 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]

    Trace complete.


    Tracing route to 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 102 ms * * 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    2 37 ms 36 ms 35 ms 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]

    Trace complete.


    Tracing route to 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    2 * 103 ms * 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]
    3 * * * Request timed out.
    4 * * * Request timed out.
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * 100 ms 137-118-216-1.wilkes.net [137.118.216.1]

    Trace complete.







    Pinging 137.118.216.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 137.118.216.1: bytes=32 time=437ms TTL=64
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 137.118.216.1:
    Packets: Sent = 11, Received = 1, Lost = 10 (90% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 437ms, Maximum = 437ms, Average = 437ms
  25. carolinaboy

    carolinaboy Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    did you give up on me? =(


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.