Re-building a Compaq Presario SR1619UK

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

I'm new to the building from scratch a computer, but am looking to upgrade my computer that I have, or build a new one from scratch. I can do the building bit myself, but I'm not so hot on working out what is compatible with what as far as motherboards, processors, graphics cards etc are concerned.

The basics of my computer are as follows:
Athlon 64 (V) 3200 + 2.0 Ghz
ATI Radeon Xpress 200
MSI MS-7184 Motherboard
Memory Installed: 512MB
Hard Drive: 160GB
7200rpm
16X DVD(+/-)R/RW (+/-)R DL Drive
PCI K56flex data/fax modem
More information on the website (I can't post links yet as I don't have enough posts)

I have upgraded the original DVD-RW drive, but intend to upgrade that to a BD-RW drive with this upgrade, I use 1x PCI for a Netgear WPN311 wireless card, and have a 400GB hard drive instead of the original 160GB, and have upgraded the RAM to 3GB using 2x512MB and 2x1GB modules bought from Crucial.

I'm looking to move to Intel processor, quad core preferably, and with a BD-RW drive, looking for the computer to handle HD comfortably, generally run smoothly and quietly.

I've been looking at overclockers.co.uk as it has been recommended by a friend, but any help on what I can get that isn't going to break the bank, budgeting to around £300 at the moment, MAX, I want excellent value for money, but I can't afford top notch at this present moment.

Thanks in advance, if I haven't provided enough detail, just ask and I can find out the answer!

Your idea of using different modules for your RAM is not a very good one. Is your RAM DDR2? If so, what speed is it? However, from what I gather you need a processor, motherboard and a blue ray DVD drive, all for £300. Is that correct?

You will not manage to fit in an Intel quad core in that budget after buying a blue ray burner which costs about half your total budget.