Recurring Complete freeze on new PC build after 30-90 min of use

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
Its my first time consulting a forum such as this to troubleshoot a problem, so feel free to notify me if I'm not using correct protocol.

I've consulted many, many threads on this website and others concerning my problem, but it seems like a "freezing computer" problem is very subjective to individual machines, so here goes.

My brother, who has built many PC's for himself and for me over the years, just finished a new one for me a week ago. After a few days it has started completely freezing (no mouse, keyboard, or C-A-D). This usually happens anywhere between 30 - 120 minutes of use. The screen abruptly freezes up, and any audio playing immediately turns into a horrible screeching sound.

This has occurred while playing a very demanding computer game, but also while watching video using VLC media player, while viewing internet pages, and also several times while transferring video files form my USB connected external hard drive to the new internal hard drive. I have to manually turn off the computer, and when I turn it back on again, its like nothing even happened. No error messages, no memory dump or blue screen, no "your system has recovered from a fatal error" or whatever, and no mention of the crash in the events log or device manager.

I'm running Windows XP SP3, and the following components were all purchased new either on Newegg.com or at BestBuy. I have updated all video drivers off nvidia.com for the graphics card.

AMD Phenom X3 720 2.8GHz Triple-core

MSI 770-C45 Motherboard

Crucial 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM (2x 2GB)

BFG GeForce GTX 260 896MB PCI Express graphics card

Corsair CMPSU 850W Crossfire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

Western Digital 1Terabyte Hard Drive (SATA)

I have a 100GB Seagate External Hard Drive Connected via USB, as well as a Logitech wireless mouse and keyboard connected via USB.