Reformat XP, No Device Drivers, no sound and clunky video

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradX

This problem seems to appear alot, but none of the previously stated fixes seem to fix my problem.

After I formatted the hard drive and installed a new XP, my video is real clunky when scrolling web pages, and more importantly I have no sound.

My Display Devices identifies nothing.
My Sound Devices identifies nothing.

I am relaly lost for what to do. Something I saw in another thread was to change some settings in the BIO;s (or something) I altered drivers to Plug n Play (I think) but that doesnt alter anything. Any help would be appreciated.

Just remember I have no Driver CD's and Windows Update is not helpful for me.

Also, I attached some info that a previous thread was beneficial.

Attachments

• DxDiag.txt
    34.3 KB · Views: 13
Sorry. Complete novice here.
I have misplaced ALL my computer information and installation CD's etc.
How do I check the motherboard information? is it not in the attachment of the previous post?

I appreciate the help.

Download and run Everest Home. From top of Everest window:
  • Click File->Preferences
    • Check English
    • Still under Preferences click Report, uncheck Include Debug Information
    • Close Preferences window
  • Click Reports->Report Wizard. Get a Custom Report in plain text. Check items
    • Computer
    • Motherboard
  • Attach the report file to a TechSpot post. When you create your TechSpot post, use the paper clip icon to attach the report. (If you don't see it among your icons, you need to click the TechSpot Go Advanced button towards bottom of window)

thanks. i actually ran that program, but didnt attach teh information.
I'm at work now, so do that when I get home tonight.