Requesting help with infected laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello and thanks in advance for your help with a problem that started a couple weeks ago. I've gone through the 8-step process and am attaching the logs.

My computer is a Fujitsu C-Series Laptop. I've been running AVG for several years, and upgraded to 8.5 about 3-4 months ago. My PC is for personal use, not business. Can't think of other pertinent info at this time.

Again, I appreciate any help you can provide.

Symptoms:
  • can't update anti-virus/malware (AVG, Malwarebytes, SAS). Browser tells me it can't get to the site.
  • Had several system crashes. A couple of the messages are "KERNEL_INPAGE_STACK_ERROR" and "PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA"
  • Crashed several times getting thru the 8-step process. Was able to go back and forth to/from Safe mode.
  • Have noticed do_not_delete.exe (I believe it was in system32 folder, but is now in Windows/prefetch)
  • AVG has seen the "Heur" several times, but it keeps coming back (haven't seen it today, however)

You didn't do the 8-steps properly:slurp:
Go over it again, and use the programs it wants you to use.
The virus/malware experts are familiar with how those programs work,
those are the ones you need to use.:zzz:

8-steps I did

Step 1. I have run AVG for several years. As for a firewall, I see recommendations here, and plan to install one as soon as I'm back up and running.

Step 2. I ran CCleaner with everything checked as per instructions. It removed 600MB.

Step 3. I disabled AVG per instructions.

Step 4. Installed and ran MBAM as instructed. (I had to go to download.com as the link in the 8-step instructions didn't work for me....see original note about not being able to update anti-virus). Also, I had to go into Safe mode to run Malwarebytes, as my PC crashed in normal mode.