Reversing Apollo NZXT Case

Status
Not open for further replies.

mewi

9.jpg

So my idea was originally because I will be purchasing two of these... each will be on of my monitors and used for a shelf mount. But one thing that is bothering me is that I cannot see/open one of the cases conveniently without removing the shelf. So my Idea is to reverse one of the cases.

Benefits of reversing a case... Well clearly it would be better ventilation if done correctly. Because of where the CPU is located and basically rotates the video card facing upward... Why the ATX standard is not reverse is beyond me... There probably is a reason. Yes all motherboard cables of my power supply are long enough.

Now the questions I will be asking is what is the most efficient way of going about this... What parts should I reverse, and should I leave some not reversed? I want to keep the power supply at the top of the case. I also would like to know what tools should I use? I have some experience with metal work but it's always good to get second opinions.

Will it be difficult to take apart the internal frame? ( darn rivets )

Will I need to remove the drive bays? ( god I hope not ;X i know HD bay will need to be reversed most likely )

Should I remove the power supply upper mount panel? Or leave it?

I will be reversing motherboard mount which I believe should be simple enough. By making a cut just under where the power supply mount is... Also reversing the exterior rear port frame, also just under the power supply frame.

Quickly Made Diagram...

apolloreversed.jpg

Reversed Back
apolloreversedback.jpg

Similar to completion?
http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t132/mewimi/apolloreversed2.jpg

I have a bad feeling about this. Sort of like you're going to have one good case, and a pile of unusable spare parts.