TechSpot

S.O.S. :Suggest a graphics card

By vinsver
Dec 18, 2007
  1. plz guys can u help on wich graphics card should i go for... the specs for my PC r as follows... was thinking on nvidia 8800 512 MB (SLI).. but a colleague recommended Nvidia 8800 256 MB saying my config wouldnt support 512MB one.
    Also have 512MB RAM wich i can upgrade to 1 GB and if i do so do i need 8800 512MB? plz help!! thanx...

    1. Know your gaming limits --> I would like to play the latest games like Crysis,FIFA 08, Call of Duty 4 and all..

    2. Tell us your budget--> my budget is Rs. 5000, indian currency(1USD=40Rs.) . I was loking at Nvidia 8800 512MB(SLI) thnk its the best but im not sure its best for my PC. Just wanted to get a good one so that i wldnt need to upgrade soon. Also wat abt Nvidia 8800 256 mB. I can also look at upgradiing my PC RAm from 512 to 1024. Suggest...

    3. Motherboard -
    Manufacturer - Intel Corporation
    Model - D915GLVG

    4. Graphic interface - Dont know wat to write here as i have no graphics card. I think 915GL VG has one on board(Seriously doubt its credentials though...)

    5. Memory -
    Type -- DDR
    Channels - Single
    Size - 512 MB

    6. CPU -
    Name -- Intel Pentium 4 640 (Hyperthreading,if it means nething)
    Core Speed -- 2800 MHz
    Specification - Pentium 4 (3.2 GHz)
    7. Power Supply Make/Model - ATX - 450T
    8. Watt output/Amperage -- 12V Rail --> 8.0A. The supply box also says maximum of 22A but not under the 12V Rail. Also it says max output as 450W

    9. Additional Specs:
    Maximum Memory Capacity: 4096 MB
    Currently Installed Memory: 512 MB
    Available Memory Slots: 3
    Number of Banks: 4
    Dual Channel Support: N.A.
    CPU Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
    CPU Family: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz Model 4, Stepping 3
    CPU Speed: 3200 MHz

    10. Country -- India

    Additional Report.....

    CPU-Z 1.42 report file

    Processor(s)

    Number of processors 1
    Number of cores 1 per processor
    Number of threads 2 (max 2) per processor
    Name Intel Pentium 4 640
    Code Name Prescott
    Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
    Package Socket 775 LGA
    Family/Model/Stepping F.4.3
    Extended Family/Model F.4
    Core Stepping N0
    Technology 90 nm
    Core Speed 2800.4 MHz
    Multiplier x Bus speed 14.0 x 200.0 MHz
    Rated Bus speed 800.1 MHz
    Stock frequency 3200 MHz
    Instruction sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, EM64T
    L1 Data cache (per processor) 16 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    Trace cache (per processor) 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
    L2 cache (per processor) 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size

    Chipset & Memory

    Northbridge Intel i915P/i915G rev. 00
    Southbridge Intel 82801FB (ICH6) rev. 03
    Memory Type DDR
    Memory Size 512 MBytes
    Memory Frequency 200.0 MHz (1:1)
    CAS# Latency (tCL) 3.0 clocks
    RAS# to CAS# (tRCD) 4 clocks
    RAS# Precharge (tRP) 4 clocks
    Cycle Time (tRAS) 8 clocks

    System

    System Manufacturer
    System Name
    System S/N
    Mainboard Vendor Intel Corporation
    Mainboard Model D915GLVG
    BIOS Vendor Intel Corp.
    BIOS Version VG91510A.86A.0048.2005.0722.1031
    BIOS Date 07/22/2005

    Memory SPD

    Module 1 DDR, PC3200 (200 MHz), 512 MBytes, unknown brand

    Software

    Windows Version Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2, v.2096 (Build 2600)
    DirectX Version 9.0b (This is Directx 9.0c version upgraded using some tricks cause of installation bug frm microsoft)
     
  2. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 3,908

    First thing that jumps out is your RAM. Your motherboard supports 4 gigs and you only have 512 installed.I would add more regardless. That will make a huge improvement no matter what card you go with.


    I don't think $125 is going to get you where you need to be to play Crysis, but adding more Ram and a decent graphics card you will be able to play some games
     
  3. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    im gonna upgrade it to 1 GB neways.... but jus want to know if getting a 8800 eries is worthwhile... i have been recommended against it, if so wich of the 7800 or 7900 wld b best for my specs...

    wat best can i do ??
     
  4. Blind Dragon

    Blind Dragon TS Evangelist Posts: 3,908

    Well it depends on your perspective:
    because 1 GeForce 8800 GTX GPU is faster than dual GeForce 7900 GTX GPUs running in SLI mode

    The other factor is price, here is the basic MSRP, you can always find better deals than this, but here is rough idea.

    GeForce 8800 GTX - $599
    GeForce 8800 GTS - $449
    GeForce 7950 GT - $299
    GeForce 7900 GS - $199
    GeForce 7600 GT - $159
    GeForce 7600 GS - $129
    GeForce 7300 GPUs - <$99
     
  5. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    yeah.. ok.. but the dealer said i wld get 8800 512 MB SLI for Rs.4500 tats 113 $.. maybe they r made in india and no import duties to be paid... he also informed tat they r performing xceptionally well with the PCs he has installed them in.. but his advice is to b taken wid a pinch of salt!

    but the thing is im still confused wich wld go with my config... and would b compatible wid the mother board...
    details:
    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 640, 3200 MHz (16 x 200)
    Motherboard Name Intel Vanguard D915GLVG (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
    Motherboard Chipset Intel Grantsdale-G i915GL
    System Memory 502 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type AMI (07/22/05)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)
     
  6. Daveskater

    Daveskater Banned Posts: 1,687

    This thread is based on our PM's so I'm going to say in here what I have suggested in said PM's for other members to see.

    I have suggested this:
    • Do not get a 8800 GPU because the CPU will bottleneck it
    • Upgrade to at least 1GB RAM, 2 if you can
    • Upgrade PSU, it sounds as though it is a generic cheapy one that wouldn't hold up to a good graphics card
    This PC only has a PCI-e x1 slot so is very limited with graphics cards, I have informed vinsver that the best ones available are the ATI X1550 and nVidia Quadro4 series, both of which i know little about because I know most about GeForce cards, a bit about Radeon's and the newer cards beginning with X (don't know what they're supposed to be called ;)) e.g. X1950.

    This doesn't really make a lot of diffenernce, but it sounds to me as though this is an mATX card because it only has 2 PCI slots.
     
  7. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    more confused :(
     
  8. pdyckman@comcas

    pdyckman@comcas TS Rookie Posts: 527

    Install 2 GIGS of RAM and an EVGA 8800 GTS 320 MB graphics card. Your processor is O.K. Tou also need a PSU with at least 26 amps on the 12volt rail. Making the transition to a decent gaming machine is expensive. I was wondering why your 3.2 GHZ CPU has a clock speed of 2800 MHZ? Good Luck.
     
  9. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    tats wat i was wondering too.. no clue :(
     
  10. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    does my mother board has a slot for pci x16? and is my mother borad compatible with 8800??

    Motherboard:
    CPU Type Intel Pentium 4 640, 3200 MHz (16 x 200)
    Motherboard Name Intel Vanguard D915GLVG (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
    Motherboard Chipset Intel Grantsdale-G i915GL
    System Memory 502 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
    BIOS Type AMI (07/22/05)
    Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
    Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

    [ System Slots / J6C1 ]

    System Slot Properties:
    Slot Designation J6C1
    Type PCI-E x16
    Usage In Use
    Length Long

    [ System Slots / J7B1 ]

    System Slot Properties:
    Slot Designation J7B1
    Type PCI
    Usage In Use
    Data Bus Width 32-bit
    Length Long

    [ System Slots / J8A2 ]

    System Slot Properties:
    Slot Designation J8A2
    Type PCI
    Usage Empty
    Data Bus Width 32-bit
    Length Long
     
  11. be_patient

    be_patient TS Rookie Posts: 103

    Yes it says PCI-E x1.

    i agree, if you can afford it definetly suggest 2gb of RAM, or if cant afford it go 1gb of good quality ram. DONT BUY CHEAP RAM!

    I disagree with the 320mb 8800gts card, for the money you pay IMO it is not worth it. I mean yes it is a great reliable card, but for the price difference i would suggest getting the 512mb 8800GT. Its is a remarkable card, very stable, reliable, low power and great value for money. The only downside is i believe it runs a bit hot.

    If you did want a 7series card, i previously had the 7900gt and could play all current games on high setting with decent framerates. But it doesnt support dx10.
     
  12. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    the downside wid 7 seriews is tat it doesnt support dx10.. with the gaming market dynamics im sure 3 months down the line evry decent game wld ask for dx10....
    also is 8600 a better choice? was thinking of going with 8800 256MB if its affordable... rather than 8800 512 as i thnk 2GB RAm upgrade shld take care of some of the requirement. also still im not sure abt the compatibility with my motherboard.
    Also if i have to go wid 7series due to costs attached then is 2GBRAM and 7950 good or wld u sugest neother 7 series wich wld go well wid my config?
     
  13. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    @All,

    the prices of 8800 put me off so have decided on nvidia 8600 512 MB wich seems affordable! so i wld go for tat.... but plz suggest if it would be compatible with my mother board and CPU .. the details of which are above in the thread..... also plz do let me kno if u want ne other details.. i have the complete EVEREST Home report!!!
    want to upgraded ASAP....

    thanks.... and Cheers...
     
  14. Daveskater

    Daveskater Banned Posts: 1,687

    We have decided this earlier, your PC only has a PCI-e x1 slot according to everest.

    The definitive way to know what you have is to open up your case and see if you have a small slot or a big one. PCI-e x1 and x16 look very different.

    e.g. in this picture:
    [​IMG]
    The slot at the top (the white one) is PCI-e x16, and the one under it is x1.

    It would be best for you to open your case and see what you have so you don't waste your money. After all, you'll have to open the case to put the card in anyway.

    Edit: that is an SLI mobo so the red one is PCI-e x16 as well.
     
  15. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    wld chk for sure neways i wld ask the vendor to install it neways... also after various price and availability check... another query...

    is it advisable to go in for 8800 GT 512 MB instead of 8600 series and other 8800 series cards.. also i thnk 8800 GT is cheaper and performs nicely!
     
  16. vinsver

    vinsver TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 19

    wats the difference between :

    Nvidia Graphic Card 8600GT (Super) 512MB PCI-E 3 Yr War (cost: Rs6000)
    and
    Nvidia GeForce 8600GT 512 MB Graphics Card | 512MB DDR2 (Rs14000)

    more than doubl the price difference... and is the first one good enough?
    also there are similar 2 for 8800 series.... diff plz?
     
  17. Daveskater

    Daveskater Banned Posts: 1,687

    I am going to say again that you should check what slot you have, otherwise you'll be paying for a graphics card to be put in that simply won't go in.

    Please use the edit button to edit your post if you want to add new information and there are no new replies.

    I am now going to unsubscribe from this thread as you will not listen to anyone's suggestions and just want to do what you want regardless of whether the graphics card you buy is going to fit or not and the fact that I am almost certain your current PSU will not be good enough for an 8 series card, but you refuse to take the side off your case, and this is how you will find out what make and model your PSU is. No software can tell you this.
     
  18. cfitzarl

    cfitzarl TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 1,975   +9

    Make sure you get a video card that will fit your slot; you do not have a PCIe x16 slot.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...