SATA Drive Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

newners

I have been running the following system for a few months now with no probs.

Celeron 2.4
Asrock P4VT8+ mobo (via PT800 chipset and VIA 8237 sata /raid controller)
512Mb elixir DDR400
DVD +/- RW
ATI 9200 graphics card
Belkin wireless NWork adapter
Floppy drive
Maxtor diamond plus 9 160Gb SATA hard drive with win xp pro sp2, AVG and router & windows firewall on.

The system was shut down normally after some browsing ( no updates or downloads - I think ).

Upon restart - windows start options screen appeared. Tried all the options one after the other. none worked. Now pc only boots to the win xp pro splash screen then restarts again and again. Tried repair install after loading SATA drivers (F6). Takes 15-20 minutes to inspect the hard drive and then reports the whole hard drive is unpartitioned do I want to install win xp on it!? (quitted with F3). Tried recovery console but hangs and does not show "C:\ windows". It looks as though the drive has been completely wiped!

In order to see if I can recover some data from this drive I then put this drive in another machine running XP pro on an IDE drive (SATA available on mobo). Even though the BIOS boot priority is IDE, CDROM, Floppy, it always tries to boot from the problem SATA drive even with sata DISABLED IN THE bios!

I put in a new IDE hard drive on the original system with problem SATA drive attached . Loaded XP ( no F6 etc this time), no probs all fine. SATA drive not seen in XP! Upon Re start and despite correct BIOS boot order can not stop attempts to boot from SATA drive.

Why can I not boot from IDE drive and then see the SATA drive in XP?
What could have caused this prob?
Are there any SATA drive diagnostic tools (maxtor ones don't work with embedded SATA controllers)?

Any help much appreciated.