Screen resolution not fullscreen

By Ryan O'Brien
Jul 24, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. My monitor is native 1920 x 1080. When I try to set my monitor to that resolution, it won't go full screen. It won't stretch to the full screen, it's like pulled in together. This still happens after I did a system restore ( to factory settings ). Any ideas?? Thanks.
  2. LNCPapa

    LNCPapa TS Special Forces Posts: 4,284   +262

    A picture (even a cell phone pic) might help with this, but it sounds like you may be hooking up via HDMI and are having some underscan issues. It would be nice if you include your video hardware as well. Also, let us know what version of video driver you are currently using.
  3. Ryan O'Brien

    Ryan O'Brien Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 65

  4. Adhmuz

    Adhmuz TechSpot Paladin Posts: 898   +98

    Right, the cable your using is VGA connected to your IO panel. Also noticed you have the ability to use both DVI (Rectangular white connector) or HDMI (Directly to the right of the previous DVI connector) If you monitor has either I would recommend either option for better picture quality and ease of use.

    Now if you want to use your current VGA cable you might have to force the resolution you require (If this is possible), I'm going to assume 1920x1080 doesn't show up in the drop down box for screen resolution (Correct me if I'm wrong) Chances are the VGA port won't be able to run the resolution your looking for, at which point either a DVI or HDMI cable will be required.
  5. Ryan O'Brien

    Ryan O'Brien Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 65

    ive had my monitor plugged in this way the whole time I've had it, like 6 months. also I can access 1920 x 1080, but it wont stretch out. kinda hard to see in this picture but you can see the basic idea

    Attached Files:

  6. Adhmuz

    Adhmuz TechSpot Paladin Posts: 898   +98

    Okay, that is good to know, has the cable been unplugged recently, either on purpose or by accident. I ask because its possible the pins aren't making complete contact, this happens if a pin gets damaged from incorrect insertion or even if it was dropped and hit something the wrong way. Is it possible to test with another cable? Hardware wise the next thing to fail is the on board video or the monitor itself. Can the screen be tested on another device, and the computer with another screen? Then there's software, you've already tried a system restore, the next thing would be remove the current drivers and reinstall.
  7. Ryan O'Brien

    Ryan O'Brien Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 65

    Okay, I'll try it on my other computer tommorrow, thanks for the help so far. ;)
  8. Ryan O'Brien

    Ryan O'Brien Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 65

    Do the drivers automatically reinstall if I were to remove them and restart the computer?
  9. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 5,806   +1,431

    If Windows can find the drivers they will be set back up automatically. If not Windows will ask you for a location to the drivers upon windows startup.
  10. Cobalt006

    Cobalt006 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 1,750   +162

    What is the make and model of your computer? Sound s like you need to go to the manufacture web site. Then download the drivers for your video card. Plus your chip set drivers.
  11. LookinAround

    LookinAround TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 8,361   +167

    If you uninstall using Device Manager, the driver is uninstalled but the installation files aren't deleted. Thus, Windows can (and will) reinstall the driver when you reboot using the installation files it finds

    To both uninstall AND delete installation files, look in Ctl Panel->Add/Remove programs for the video entry. Uninstall from there if you want to both uninstall and delete all the files
     
  12. Ryan O'Brien

    Ryan O'Brien Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 65

    I apologize for not posting in a while, but I've used an HDMI cable, and it fixed the problem. I believe the problem was because the VGA cable is messed up. I'm ordering a couple from ebay now, thanks everyone. ;)
  13. ryourff

    ryourff Newcomer, in training Posts: 17

    Thtat,s tundefinedh answer


    en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3515/p/19317341/19638525.aspx


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.