Seeking overclocking & memory selection for X79 system build

I am not a gamer (I play games occasionally, but don't build systems for gaming). I am a commercial photographer (architectural, product, industrial). I shoot high mega pixel files, build and save multiple copies, layered Photoshop files, very large scans and video footage. I need a lot of storage space, processing speed, transfer speed and memory.

My previous builds have been dual Xeon systems and x64 Win OS since Win2000.
Previous systems have included dual 3.4Ghz, dual 2.4Ghz, dual 600Mhz & dual 300Mhz using Asus & Supermicro boards. Besides my workstations I've built a half dozen other systems. The last 2 systems have included 4 drive RAID arrays in RAID 0 config for working video files. I haven't built a system in about 5 years.

My goal is to build a system suitable for my photo/video needs that provides modest stable overclocking - targeting 4.5 Ghz. I am also interested in combining a pair of Seagate Hybrid drives (Momentus XT) in RAID0 as the OS drive for a balance of space and performance rather than going to SSD. I've never played with Overclocking nor water cooled systems.

As I start this build I am tight on funds and propose to bake in a planned future upgrade to allow the cost of those components to go down and still see an immediate jump in speed over my current system. I expect this new build to be 10X as fast as my current system (60 minute render in 6 minutes). The future upgrade will further potentially double the speed (3-4.5min?).

2012 Build
purchased so far:
> Corsair Carbide 500R case -
selected for large side fan, USB3, eSATA & Firewire ports on front face
> ASRock X79 Extreme9 MoBo
selected for 64GB support, USB3, SATA III RAID,
also for fairly simple Overclocking capability
> MasterCooler 80+Gold 800w PSU
> Corsair H100 Hydro CPU Cooler kit (2 extra fans for push/pull airflow)
selected for high efficiency, simple liquid cooling