Setting a custom res for tiny monitor?

Mugsy

Interesting question: I'm a PC tech that often provides on-site service. Sometimes I need to hook up two PC's at once but the customer only has one monitor.

I have a portable 7" digital TV. Very handy. It sure would be great if I could bring it with me on jobs and hook a PC up to it. Using an adapter, I can plug a VGA cable into the 1/4" "Video In" plug on the side, but the resolution is only 480x234 and I don't think Windows can support such a low resolution natively.

Anyone know of a way I can make this idea work?

Thanks for the reply's.

Oscar: What did you do to try and create the lower resolution?

Fimbles: I'd prefer having two screens so I can see both PC's at the same time, but that might be worth looking into if nothing else pans out.

Is it possible to create a "custom resolution" in your Ati catalyst control centre?

Hey Mugsy. Pardon me, I appear to be missing something. This other pc you're trying to hook up I assume is your pc which you might use for troubleshooting,etc. Is it a desktop or possibly a laptop that works but the screen is bad/broken?. I ask since I travel with a netbook in case I need Net access,etc when the customers pc is down.

Hey Mugsy. Pardon me, I appear to be missing something. This other pc you're trying to hook up I assume is your pc which you might use for troubleshooting,etc. Is it a desktop or possibly a laptop that works but the screen is bad/broken?. I ask since I travel with a netbook in case I need Net access,etc when the customers pc is down.
Hi Hawk.

No. I build new PC's (among other services) for customers and am often asked to personally deliver them, hook them up, and move all their data from one PC to the other.